Home » Navigation » Europe » European Bowling Tour » Hadley Morgan wins qualifying in 10th International Wroclaw Open

Hadley Morgan wins qualifying in 10th International Wroclaw Open


Hadley Morgan of England remained atop the 104-player leaderboard during the last four squads on Saturday en route to win the qualifying of the European Bowling Tour’s 10th International Wroclaw Open. Morgan, who averaged 248.17 and totaled 1489 pins in the 10th of 16 squads, leads the top 40 players, including six women, into the finals Sunday at Galeria Rozrywki Miraz bowling center in Wroclaw, Poland.

Eight players surpassed the 1400-mark in squads 13-16 bringing the total number of 1400-series to 20.

2016EBT04MichaelWittendorff.jpg2016EBT04SteffenPetersen.jpgThose 20 will bowl their four-game block in the first round at 10.30 a.m. CET, while the players ranked 21-40 will start at 8 a.m. The qualifying pinfall will be carried forward.

Morgan beat out Anton Elofsson of Sweden for the top spot by 18 pins.

Elofsson was second place with 1471. Michael Wittendorff (left) of Denmark finished squad 14 with a huge 290 game to win the squad by three pins over compatriot Steffen Petersen (right), 1469 to 1466.

2016EBT04ChrisSloan.jpg2015EBT09AutumnChamberlain.jpgWittendorff jumped into third place, while Petersen, who posted the tournament’s fourth 300 in game three, took over fourth place. Rounding out the top 5 was Irish two-hander Chris Sloan (left), who was further three pins behind Petersen with 1463.

Autum Chamberlain (right) of England, who was the best of 22 women in the field in sixth place with 1459, including 48 pins handicap, rolled another 1451 in squad 15 for her second squad win. She had 265, 203, 246, 196, 214 and 279 for 1403 scratch, an average of 233.83.

2016EBT04SanttuTahvanainen.jpg2016EBT04JaroslavLorenc.jpgAnders Lousdal of Denmark and Robin Persson of Sweden, who had the second and first 300 games, finished qualifying in 9th and 15th place with 1447 and 1427, respectively.

Santtu Tahvanainen (left) of Finland led the first squad on Saturday (#10) with 1447, including a 299 opening game, to land in 10th place, just two pins ahead of Jaroslav Lorenc (right), Czech Republic.

Lorenc, who finished second in Wroclaw in 2014 and 2015 starts the finals from 11th place with 1445. Two-time defending champion Kamilla Kjeldsen (below left) of Denmark made the first cut in 37th place with 1334 total, including a 299 game.

2015EBT14KamillaKjeldsen.jpg2016EBT04EmelieTiveljung.jpgTrailing Lorenc by 15 pins to land in 13th place was the second-best woman, Emelie Tiveljung (right) of Sweden, with 1430, including handicap.

Danish national team members Jesper Agerbo and Carsten Warming Hansen moved into 19th and 22nd place. Agerbo started his 1411 series in squad 15 with another 299 game, while Hansen finished the last squad 16 with back-to-back 250s for 1387.

Krzysztof Olesiński of Poland took the 40th and last place to advance to the finals with 1329 or an average of 221.50.

2016EBT04WroclawOpenLogo2.jpgThe 10th International Wroclaw Open is the fourth stop of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the second of six EBT “Satellite” events this season, the lowest of the four EBT categories.

The IWO will be held from Wednesday, Feb. 17 through Sunday, Feb. 21, 2016 at Galeria Rozrywki Miraz, a 10-lane bowling center in Wroclaw, Poland.

As in the past five years, participants will compete for total prize money of 26.000 Euro with 4.250 Euro going to the winner, 2.750 Euro to the runner-up and 2.100 and 1.800 Euro to third and fourth place finishers, respectively. Low to cash is 40th place (250 Euro).

Qualifying (6 games, unlimited re-entries) runs through Saturday, Feb. 20, and ends with Squad 16 scheduled to start at 8.30 p.m. CET. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events.

 The tournament will be contested on the same lane conditioning pattern as in 2015, a 39-ft. pattern with 23.28ml volume oil total. Click image for larger view.

The top 40 players from the overall qualifying standings will advance to the finals on Sunday Feb. 21. The qualifying pinfall carries over. The finalists will be divided into two squads (places 21-40 and 1-20), who will bowl a four-game block after which the field will be cut to the top 20.

Those 20 will bowl another four games to cut to the top 8 who advance to seven games of round robin match play. All pinfall carries over into round robin, where bowlers earn 20 bonus pins per win, 10 for a tie, and 5 bonus pins for each game between 250 and 300. The top 4 will advance to the stepladder finals.

The No. 4 seed bowls the No. 3 seed, the winner takes on the No. 2 seed and the winner of that match earns the right to bowl the No. 1 seed for the title. The opening match and the semifinal match will be decided in one game, while the championship match will feature two games decided by total pinfall.

2016EBTLogo_small.jpgThe 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three “Platinum” events, three “Gold”, four “Silver” and six “Satellite” events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters February 27, 2017, at Dolfijn Bowling in Tilburg, Netherlands.

After the conclusion of the 10th International Wroclaw Open, the 2016 European Bowling Tour will take a three-week break before heading to Munich, Germany, for the 103.000 Euro Brunswick Euro Challenge, an EBT “platinum” event, which will be held from March 13-20 at 52-lane Dream-Bowl Palace.


Related Articles

England’s Hadley Morgan takes over lead in 10th International Wroclaw Open
Anton Elofsson continues to lead as qualifying reaches halfway point in Wroclaw
Swedes Elofsson, Nordenson set the pace in 10th International Wroclaw Open
10th International Wroclaw Open – Tournament Preview
Kamilla Kjeldsen defends her title in 9th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer
2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital – Men and Women

10th International Wroclaw Open – Final Qualifying Standings after Squad 16

Top 40 qualifiers advance to the finals on Sunday, Feb 21.

300 games (4) – Robin Persson, Anders Lousdal, Autum Chamberlain, Steffen Petersen.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.