Kamilla Kjeldsen wins her first EBT title in 8th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer


    2014 European Bowling Tour #2

    Dane defeats men's ranking winner Jaroslav Lorenc (CZE) in the title match, 449-390


    2013EBT15JaroslavLorenc.jpgKamilla Kjeldsen (pictured left) of Denmark defeated Jaroslav Lorenc (right), Czech Republic, in the title match over two games total pins, 441-390, to win her first career European Bowling Tour title in the 8th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer Sunday evening at Galeria Rozrywki Miraz in Wroclaw, Poland.

    Kjeldsen, who received eight pins handicap each game, won the first game by 15 pins, 201-186, and struck out in the last three frames to seal the victory with a 240-204 win in game two. The two-time EBT women's ranking winner and three-time EBT Masters champion pocketed 4.250 Euro.

    The long-time Danish national team member was the only woman, who survived the qualifying cut to the top 40. It marked the 12th time in her career that Kjeldsen has won the women's ranking in an EBT event.

    2014EBT02JoonasJehkinen.jpg2013EBT10CarstenWarmingHansen.jpg It was also the 26th victory by a women on the European Bowling Tour, which is in its 15th season in 2014. Women have won at least one title in each season since the inception of the Tour in the year 2000.

    In the opening match of the four-player stepladder final, fourth-seeded Joonas Jehkinen (left) of Finland ousted No. 3 seed, Carsten Warming Hansen (right), Denmark, 238-204. Lorenc took down Jehkinen in the semifinal, 246-196, to advance to the title match against top-seeded Kjeldsen.

    Lorenc, who was looking for his first EBT title, won the men's ranking in Wroclaw. He received 2.750 Euro for second place. Jehkinen earned 2.100 Euro for third place and Hansen walked away with 1.800 Euro for fourth place.

    The tournament drew 99 players - 94 men and 5 women - from 18 countries.

    2014EBT02IWOLogo_small.jpg The 8th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer (IWO) is the second stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and the first of nine EBT "Satellite" events, the lowest of four EBT categories. The tournament will be held from Wednesday, Feb. 12 through Sunday, Feb. 16, 2014 at bowling center Galeria Rozrywki Miraz, a 10-laner in Wroclaw, Poland.

    As in the past three years, participants in the IWO will compete for total prize money of 26.000 Euro with 4.250 Euro going to the winner, 2.750 Euro to the runner-up and 2.100 and 1.800 Euro to third and fourth place finishers, respectively. Low to cash is 40th place (250 Euro).

    Qualifying (6 games, unlimited re-entries) ran from February 12-15. Women received 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour. The tournament was contested on a 39-ft. lane conditioning pattern with 23.28ml volume oil total.

    The top 40 players from the overall qualifying standings advanced to the finals on Sunday Feb. 16. Qualifying pinfall was carried forward. The finalists were divided into two squads (places 21-40 and 1-20) to bowl a four-game game block after which the field was cut to the top 20.

    Those 20 bowled another four games to cut to the top 8 who advanced to seven games of round robin match play. All pinfall carried over into round robin, where bowlers earned 20 bonus pins per win, 10 for a tie, and 5 bonus pins for each game between 250 and 300. The top 4 advanced to the stepladder finals.

    The No. 4 seed bowled the No. 3 seed, the winner took on the No. 2 seed and the winner of that match earned the right to bowl the No. 1 seed for the title. The opening match and the semifinal match were decided in one game, while the championship match featured two games decided by total pinfall.

    2014EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2014 European Bowling Tour features 21 tournaments in 14 countries. In its 15th season, the EBT consists of two Platinum, six Gold, four Silver and nine Satellite tournaments. The total prize fund exceeds one million Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the eighth EBT Masters July 6, 2015 in Asti, Italy.


    Related Articles

    Karl Wahlgren wins qualifying in 8th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer
    Swedes Karl Wahlgren, Anton Borg crack the 1400-bar in Wroclaw
    Dane Carsten Warming Hansen takes over lead in 8th International Wroclaw Open
    Squad 2 leaders Świtalski, Zarzycki pace opening day at 8th International Wroclaw Open
    2014 European Bowling Tour commences with two tournaments sponsored by Hammer
    An┼że Grabrijan wins dramatic finale at 7th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer
    2014 European Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2014 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women



    8th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer - Stepladder Finals

    Galeria Rozrywki Miraz in Wroclaw, Poland (Feb. 12-16, 2014)

    2014EBT02Podium.jpgChampionship Round:
    1. Kamilla Kjeldsen, Denmark, 441 (2 games), 4.250 Euro
    2. Jaroslav Lorenc, Czech Republic, 636 (3 games), 2.750 Euro
    3. Joonas Jehkinen, Finland, 434 (2 games), 2.100 Euro
    4. Carsten Warming Hansen, Denmark, 204 (1 game), 1.800 Euro

    Playoff Results:
    Match 1: #4 Jehkinen def. #3 Hansen, 238-204
    Match 2: #2 Lorenc def. Jehkinen, 246-196
    Championship: #1 Kjeldsen (201+240) def. Lorenc (186+204), 441-390.
    Note: Kjeldsen received 8 pins handicap each game.



    Cashers (places 5-40)

    5. Mouradian Hachatur, Ukraine, 1.300 Euro
    6. Allan Smith, United States, 1.200 Euro
    7. Daniel Vezis, Latvia, 1.100 Euro
    8. Dennis Gr├╝nheid, Germany, 1.000 Euro
    9. Mattias Olsson, Sweden, 750 Euro
    10. Karl Wahlgren, Sweden, 750 Euro
    11. Marco Baade, Germany, 350 Euro
    12. Paweł Bielski, Poland, 350 Euro
    13. Michał Świtalski, Poland, 350 Euro
    14. Olexandr Kondratyev, Ukraine, 350 Euro
    15. Anton Borg, Sweden, 350 Euro
    16. Jan Macek, Czech Republic, 350 Euro
    17. Stephan Fiege, Germany, 350 Euro
    18. Krzysztof Olesiński, Poland, 350 Euro
    19. Mats Maggi, Belgium, 350 Euro
    20. Sandro Brandt, Germany, 350 Euro
    21. Sascha Hauchwitz, Germany, 300 Euro
    22. An┼że Grabrijan, Slovenia, 300 Euro
    23. Nino Stenko, Slovenia, 300 Euro
    24. Mattias Nilsson, Sweden, 300 Euro
    25. Mattias Sundin, Sweden, 300 Euro
    26. Michał Zarzycki, Poland, 300 Euro
    27. David Sandowski, Germany, 300 Euro
    28. Lieven Staar, Germany, 300 Euro
    29. Ian Robinson, Sweden, 300 Euro
    30. Stephan Glassau, Denmark, 300 Euro
    31. Lars Nielsen, Denmark, 250 Euro
    32. Matt Chamberlain, England, 250 Euro
    33. Karmazin Evgeniy, Ukraine, 250 Euro
    34. Erik Ahlstrand, Sweden, 250 Euro
    35. Brian Voss, United States, 250 Euro
    36. Karsten Rothborg, Denmark, 250 Euro
    37. Egon S├Şrensen, Denmark, 250 Euro
    38. Robert Norberg, Sweden, 250 Euro
    39. Vytautas Gykis, Lithuania, 250 Euro
    40. Joakim Wahlgren, Sweden, 250 Euro



    Final Round Three (Round Robin Match Play)

    The top 4 advance to the Stepladder Final.



    Final Round Two

    The top 8 advance to Round Robin Match Play.



    Final Round One

    The top 20 advance to the second round.