Home » Navigation » Europe » European Bowling Tour » Nicole Sanders leads Squad 3 at Chandra Open; Johnny Spil perfect

Nicole Sanders leads Squad 3 at Chandra Open; Johnny Spil perfect


Dutch bowlers dominate the overall qualifying standings at the Chandra Open as the 29 bowlers of squad 3 have completed qualifying Tuesday evening at Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands.

The top 6 from a separate leaderboard of the first three squads will earn automatic berths into Sunday’s finals if they don’t finish qualifying in the top 30.

2016EBT12TomvanderVlietNicole Sanders (pictured above) made a run at the lead starting and finishing her six-game block with games in the 250s but fell 16 pins short to move into second place with 1486 total, including eight pins handicap each game. Sanders averaged 239.67 scratch.

2014 European Champions Cup winner Tom van der Vliet (right) continued to lead the field of 58 players, 50 men and eight women, from Belgium, England, Germany, Netherlands and the United States with 1502 and an average of 250.33.

2016EBT12LisanneBreeschotenSanders’ fellow Dutch women’s national team members Lisanne Breeschoten (left; 1450) and Ghislaine Stigter-van der Tol (1431) slipped to third and fourth place, respectively. Stigter posted another 1418 series Tuesday.

2016EBT12JohnnySpilJohnny Spil (right) was second in squad 3 with 1428, an average of 238, including the third 300 game of the tournament. Spil started his series with 220 and 259 before he achieved perfection in game three. He closed with 229, 206 and 214 to leap into fifth place.

Rounding out the top 6 was Mark Jacobs, who had the second perfecto (Youri Fens, Netherlands, was the first) in his 1412 series in squad 1. If any of the above will finish in the top 30, the automatic spot goes to the next qualifier in order.

Maxime de Rooij averaged 226.67 to become the best foreign bowler in the field with 1408 total, including handicap. Patrick Meka rounds out the top 8 with 1394 or an average of 232.33. The top 8 players at the end of the qualifying will receive a first-round bye.

With three of the nine qualifying squads in the books, Cédric Andrik of Germany holds the 30th and last spot to advance to the finals with 1315 and an average of 219.17. Qualifying commences on Thursday, September 15, with Squad 4 scheduled to start at 8 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

2016ChandraOpenLogoSliderThe Chandra Open 2016 is the 12th stop of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the fourth out of six EBT “Satellite” tournaments this season. The tournament runs from Sept. 11-18 at 16-lane Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands.

This year’s edition offers total prize fund of 21.100 Euro with 3.250 Euro going to the winner and 2.250 Euro to the runner-up, while the third and fourth place finishers will receive 1.500 Euro and 1.000, respectively. Final cash spot is 40th place worth 250 Euro.

Qualifying (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Sunday, Sept. 11, through Saturday, Sept. 17, with the final Squad 9 scheduled for 6 p.m. and concludes with the Desperado Squad slated for 9.30 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum is 300) throughout the entire tournament, an equality handicap provided to women in all European Bowling Tour events.

Total 40 players will advance to the finals on Sunday, Sept. 18, including the top 30 from the overall qualifying standings, the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of squads 1, 2 and 3 (Sept. 11-13), and the top 4 of the one-game Desperado Squad. The top 8 qualifiers will receive a first-round bye.

The other 32 players bowl four games from scratch with the top 16 advancing to the second round. Those 16 and the top eight qualifiers bowl another four-game round from scratch to cut to the top 12 who advance to the final round.

All finalists carry over their four-game total to bowl a final six-game round. The player with the highest 10-game total including handicap will be declared champion.

2016EBTLogo2The 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three “Platinum” events, three “Gold”, four “Silver” and six “Satellite” events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters May 29, 2017, at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark.

Related Articles

Lisanne Breeschoten moves into second place at Chandra Open
Tom van der Vliet kicks off Chandra Open with 1500 series
Chandra Open 2016 – Tournament Preview
Denmark’s Mik Stampe wins his third EBT title in Chandra Open 2015
2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital – Men and Women
2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown

Chandra Open 2015 – Standings after Qualifying Squad 3/9

Top 30 qualifiers plus the top 6 of a separate leader board of Squads 1-3 (places 31-36) and the top 4 of the Desperado Squad (places 37-40) will advance to Sunday’s finals. Top 8 qualifiers will receive a first-round bye.

300 games (3) – Youri Fens, Mark Jacobs, Johnny Spil.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.