Home » Navigation » Europe » European Bowling Tour » Tom van der Vliet kicks off Chandra Open with 1500 series

Tom van der Vliet kicks off Chandra Open with 1500 series


29 bowlers from Belgium, England, United States and the host country Netherlands kicked off the Chandra Open 2016 Sunday afternoon at Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein.

Dutch champion Tom van der Vliet (pictured above) averaged over 250 to take the early lead in the European Bowling Tour “satellite” tournament. The 2014 European Champions Cup winner put together games of 235, 250, 224, 278, 268 and 247 for 1502 total and an average of 250.33.

Trailing Van der Vliet by 71 pins to sit in second place was last year’s women’s ranking winner Ghislaine Stigter – van der Tol, Netherlands with 1331, including eight pins handicap each game.

The three-time EBT champion, who ties England’s Zara Glover for the most wins by a woman on the European Bowling Tour, had games of 246, 223, 255, 224, 233 and 202 for 1383 scratch, an average of 230.50, and 1431 total.

Dutchmen Youri Fens and Mark Jacobs stole the spotlight on a high-scoring squad they rolled the first and second perfect game of the Chandra Open 2016. Fens started with games of 194 and 190 before making his run at perfection. He closed with 207, 238 and 216 for 1345, good for eighth place.

Jacobs started his series with 238, 221, 212 and 216 before rattling off 12 consecutive strikes. He finished with 225 for 1412 and the second-highest 235.33 average to take third place.

Dan French of England was the best foreign bowler in fourth place with 1375, including a high game of 278. Gery Verbruggen of Belgium, who won the EBT point ranking in the Tour’s first four years (2000-2003), was just one pin behind in fifth place with 1374, including a 279 game.

Rounding out the top 6 was Nicole Sanders, Netherlands, with 1369 total including 48 pins handicap. The top 6 from a separate leaderboard of squads 1, 2 and 3 will earn automatic berths into the finals next Sunday.

Qualifying commences on Monday, September 12, with Squad 2 scheduled to start at 8 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

2016ChandraOpenLogoSliderThe Chandra Open 2016 is the 12th stop of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the fourth out of six EBT “Satellite” tournaments this season. The tournament runs from Sept. 11-18 at 16-lane Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands.

This year’s edition offers total prize fund of 21.100 Euro with 3.250 Euro going to the winner and 2.250 Euro to the runner-up, while the third and fourth place finishers will receive 1.500 Euro and 1.000, respectively. Final cash spot is 40th place worth 250 Euro.

Qualifying (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Sunday, Sept. 11, through Saturday, Sept. 17, with the final Squad 9 scheduled for 6 p.m. and concludes with the Desperado Squad slated for 9.30 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum is 300) throughout the entire tournament, an equality handicap provided to women in all European Bowling Tour events.

Total 40 players will advance to the finals on Sunday, Sept. 18, including the top 30 from the overall qualifying standings, the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of squads 1, 2 and 3 (Sept. 11-13), and the top 4 of the one-game Desperado Squad. The top 8 qualifiers will receive a first-round bye.

The other 32 players bowl four games from scratch with the top 16 advancing to the second round. Those 16 and the top eight qualifiers bowl another four-game round from scratch to cut to the top 12 who advance to the final round.

All finalists carry over their four-game total to bowl a final six-game round. The player with the highest 10-game total including handicap will be declared champion.

2016EBTLogo2The 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three “Platinum” events, three “Gold”, four “Silver” and six “Satellite” events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters May 29, 2017, at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark.

Related Articles

Chandra Open 2016 – Tournament Preview
Denmark’s Mik Stampe wins his third EBT title in Chandra Open 2015
2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital – Men and Women
2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown

Chandra Open 2015 – Standings after Qualifying Squad 1/9

Top 30 qualifiers plus the top 6 of a separate leader board of Squads 1-3 (places 31-36) and the top 4 of the Desperado Squad (places 37-40) will advance to Sunday’s finals. Top 8 qualifiers will receive a first-round bye.

300 games (2) – Youri Fens, Mark Jacobs.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.