Home » Navigation » PBA » PBA News » PBA Billy Welu Scholarship applications now being accepted

PBA Billy Welu Scholarship applications now being accepted


The PBA has announced it is now accepting applications for the 2016 PBA Billy Welu Scholarship Award which recognizes exemplary qualities in male or female college students who compete in the sport of bowling.

The winner will receive a $1,000 scholarship. To be eligible candidates must be amateur bowlers who are currently in college (preceding the application date) and maintaining at least a 2.5/4.0 GPA or equivalent. Applications must be postmarked by June 15.

The scholarship was established to annually recognize a college student who combines outstanding bowling talents with academic excellence.

Welu (pictured above with Marion Ladewig after winning the 1959 BPAA National Match Game Championship), who passed away in 1974, was best known for his expert analysis alongside legendary ABC broadcaster and PBA Hall of Famer Chris Schenkel on the “Pro Bowlers Tour” series. Welu was a two-time PBA Tour champion and a member of the PBA Hall of Fame’s inaugural induction class in 1975.

The application is in two parts and can be retrieved here. Nominations can be sent to [email protected] or through the U.S. mail at PBA Billy Welu Scholarship, 55 E. Jackson Blvd., Suite 401, Chicago, IL 60604.

History of PBA Billy Welu Scholarship Winners

2015 – Ramon Hilferink (Webber International)
2014 – Melanie Hannon (Fairleigh Dickinson)
2013 – Katie Thornton (Webber International)
2012 – Danielle McEwan (Fairleigh Dickinson)
2011 – Kristina Frahm (Maryland Eastern Shore)
2010 – Kim Yioulos (Pikeville)
2009 – Elizabeth Seibel (Penn State)
2008 – Heather D’Errico (Robert Morris-Illinois)
2007 – Ricki Williams (Wichita State)
2006 – Jerrod Reece (Creighton University)
2005 – Mandy Pezzano (U of Penn)
2004 – Holly Pusok (University of Houston)
2003 – Robby Spigner (Indiana University)
2002 – N/A
2001 – Jennie Snoddy (Notre Dame College of Ohio)
2000 – Jackie Edwards (Cal State-Fresno)
1999 – Steven Svetlik (University of Illinois-Chicago)
1998 – Nicholas Hoagland (Indiana University)
1997 – Preston Brunswig (Wichita State)
1996 – Brenda Dosher (University of Southern Indiana)
1995 – Michael Lamont (University of Florida)
1994 – Joe Ciccone (Erie Community College)
1993 – N/A
1992 – Stephen Dale Jr. (Northeastern University)
1991 – Kari Murph (Morehead State)
1990 – Kimberly Berke (University of Nebraska-Lincoln)
1989 – Ronni Shehorn (San Jose State)
1988 – Julie Powell (University of Michigan)
1987 – N/A
1986 – Paul Kaib (University of Florida)
1985 – Curt Pezzano (University of Miami, Fla.)
1984 – Michelle Mullen (University of Illinois)
1983 – Jeri Edwards (Penn State)
1982 – Patricia Bowie (Arizona State)

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.