Home » Navigation » Europe » European Bowling Tour » Pontus Andersson wins Track Open for first EBT title

Pontus Andersson wins Track Open for first EBT title


Pontus Andersson of Sweden averaged over 220 in the finals of the Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open to win his first title on the European Bowling Tour Sunday afternoon at Dream-Bowl Palace in Munich, Germany.

Pictured above from left to right: Richard Teece (2nd), champion Pontus Andersson, Dominic Barrett (3rd) and Francois Louw (4th).

The two-time World Youth champion rolled four-game series of 952 and 923 in Rounds 3 and 4, respectively, to build a comfortable 107-pin lead over 2016 EBT point ranking winner, Richard Teece, leading the top four into the one-game eliminator semi-finals.

Though Andersson suffered a low game of 156, he maintained a 34-pin lead over Teece, 2031 to 1997. Dom Barrett (right) of England, who is tied for second place on the all-time EBT titles list with Osku Palermaa of Finland with 13 wins, fired a 254 game to overtake Francois Louw of South Africa, 1938 to 1911, but both were eliminated to finish in third and fourth place, respectively.

It was the third consecutive top 10 finish on the Tour this month for Louw (left), including a third place in the Madrid Challenge and sixth place in the San Marino Open (both won by Canadian Francois Lavoie).

Andersson and Teece (right) rolled one more game and though Teece narrowed the gap by another 14 pins he was unable to overtake the Swede and settled for second place with 2198. Andersson wrapped up the title with a 187 game for 2218 total.

Andersson received 5.000 Euro for the win, Teece took home 3.500 Euro for second place, while Barrett and Louw earned 2.000 Euro

National team member Pascal Winternheimer was the best German bowler finishing in seventh place, while women’s national team member Vanessa Timter (left) was the best of 34 women in the 192-player field from 23 countries in 10th place to win the women’s ranking in the Track Open.

The 2017 European Bowling Tour features 11 tournaments in 9 countries including two “Platinum”, two “Gold”, one “Silver”, three “Bronze” and three “Satellite” events, which offer total prize fund of roughly 560.000 Euro.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 8 men and top 8 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 11th EBT Masters February 12, 2018 in Tilburg, Netherlands.

Related Articles

Bodo Konieczny wins qualifying at Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open
Bodo Konieczny refuses to fall at Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open
Bodo Konieczny leads Track Open as qualifying reaches halfway point
Argentina’s Lucas Legnani moves into second place in Munich
Bodo Konieczny shoots into lead at Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open
Clemens Ulsamer sets the pace as Track Open gets underway in Munich
2017 European Bowling Tour Schedule & Champions

8th Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open by Erdinger

Dream-Bowl Palace in Munich, Germany (July 15-23, 2017)

Championship Round:
1. Pontus Andersson, Sweden, 5.000 Euro
2. Richard Teece, England, 3.500 Euro
3. Dominic Barrett, England, 2.000 Euro
4. Francois Louw, South Africa, 2.000 Euro

Playoff Results:
Eliminator Round 1: Andersson (156/2031), Teece (229/1997), Barrett (254/1938), Louw (212/1911); Barrett and Louw eliminated.
Championship: Andersson (187) def. Teece (201), 2218-2198.

8th Dream-Bowl Palace Open – Places 5-48 (cashers)

5. Brandon Roberts, England, 1.500 Euro
6. Mikael Roos, Sweden, 1.500 Euro
7. Pascal Winternheimer, Germany, 1.500 Euro
8. Rasmus Edvall, Sweden, 1.500 Euro
9. Zulmazran Zulkifli, Malaysia, 900 Euro
10. Vanessa Timter, Germany, 900 Euro
11. Bodo Konieczny, Germany, 900 Euro
12. Martin Larsen, Sweden, 900 Euro
13. Christoph Schurian, Germany, 900 Euro
14. Markus Jansson, Sweden, 900 Euro
15. Lucas Legnani, Argentina, 900 Euro
16. Gery Verbruggen, Belgium, 900 Euro
17. Christopher Sloan, Ireland, 700 Euro
18. Oliver Morig, Germany, 700 Euro
19. Paul Moor, England, 700 Euro
20. Nicole Sanders, Netherlands, 700 Euro
21. Clemens Ulsamer, Germany, 700 Euro
22. Vivien Bados, France, 700 Euro
23. John Guldbaek, Denmark, 700 Euro
24. Adam Purnell, England, 700 Euro
25. Jaroslav Lorenc, Czech Republic, 700 Euro
26. Mikael Pettersson, Sweden, 700 Euro
27. Emanuel Jonsson, Sweden, 700 Euro
28. Carsten Warming Hansen, Denmark, 700 Euro
29. Markus Günther, Germany, 500 Euro
30. Geatan Mouveroux, France, 500 Euro
31. Cristina Sanz, Spain, 500 Euro
32. Marco Baade, Germany, 500 Euro
33. Timmy Fredriksson, Sweden, 500 Euro
34. Julia Keil, Germany, 500 Euro
35. Tim Stampe, Denmark, 500 Euro
36. Dominik Hergenröder, Germany, 500 Euro
37. Marcel Muggelberg, Germany, 500 Euro
38. Janine-Manuela Gabel, Germany, 500 Euro
39. Mik Stampe, Denmark, 500 Euro
40. Jamie Elliott, England, 500 Euro
41. Peter Hellström, Sweden, 500 Euro
42. Cosimo Martignano, Switzerland, 500 Euro
43. Andreas Hernitschek, Germany, 500 Euro
44. Ray Teece, England, 500 Euro
45. Ivan Semenov, Russia, 500 Euro
46. Andrea Cella, Italy, 500 Euro
47. Andreas Kocher, Austria, 500 Euro
48. Michael Krämer, Germany, 500 Euro

8th Dream-Bowl Palace Open – Final Round Four

Top 4 advance to the eliminator finals. Places 5-8 eliminated.

8th Dream-Bowl Palace Open – Final Round Three

Top 8 advance to the fourth round. Places 9-16 eliminated.

8th Dream-Bowl Palace Open – Final Round Two

Top 12 advance to the third round. Places 13-24 eliminated, finish in 17th to 28th place.

8th Dream-Bowl Palace Open – Final Round One

Top 20 advance to the second round. Places 21-40 eliminated, finish in 29th to 48th place.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.