Argentina's Mercedes Perez leads women's division at Bowling World Cup after first block


    2011 BWC

    Defending champion Aumi Guerra sits in second place; cut for 24th place is currently 991 (198.20 average)

    2011BWCMercedesPerez.jpg2011BWCAumiGuerra.jpgMercedes Perez de la Losa (pictured left) of Argentina averaged 231.40 in the first qualifying block of the 47th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup to take the early lead in the women's division with 1157 five-game total Wednesday at Northcliff Bowling Center in Johannesburg, South Africa.

    Perez had games of 201, 255, 202, 258 and 241 to hold a 12-pin lead over defending champion Aumi Guerra, Dominican Republic, who positioned herself in second place with 1145. Third place belonged to past world champion Liza Clutario (below left), Philippines, with 1124.

    2011BWCLizaClutario.jpg2011BWCLuzAdrianaLeal.jpgColombian national team member Luz Adriana Leal (right), who represent Catalonia, an autonomous community in northeastern Spain, was fourth with 1111 and was followed by Cherie Tan, Singapore, and Diandra Asbaty, United States, who were tied for fifth place with 1094.

    With five of twenty qualifying games in the books, Jennifer Park, Canada, holds the 24th and last place to advance with 991 or an average of 198.20.

    All 69 women will bowl 20 games of qualifying over four days beginning ending on Sunday. The field will then be cut to the top 24 for eight additional games on Monday, Dec. 5.

    The top eight after 28 games advance to the Round of 8 on Tuesday, Dec. 6, where the field will be paired down to the top three for the stepladder finals on Wednesday, Dec. 7.

    Photos: Beat Grauwiler.


    Related Articles

    Asbaty, Jones headed to South Africa for World Cup
    Depka, Richards represent Virgin Islands at the Bowling World Cup
    Guerra, Schmidt to defend their titles at QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup in South Africa
    LGB Northcliff Bowl rebuilding nears completion
    Bergès, Manico cruise to victory in Swiss World Cup Qualifier
    Sue Abela, Justin Caruana Scicluna to represent Malta at Bowling World Cup
    Shahaf Antin, Ben Fishler to represent Israel at World Cup in South Africa
    Louw, Van der Berg will bowl for the host country South Africa in 47th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
    Caio Pizzoli wins XX Copa AMF Brazil in Sao Paulo
    2011 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup to be held in Johannesburg, South Africa


    Women's Division - Standings after Block 1/4

    The top 24 after 20 qualifying games will advance to the next round