Carsten Warming Hansen averages 238.50 to overtake qualifying lead in Odense International


    2014 European Bowling Tour #8

    Dane and Swede Emil Ågren become the first players to surpass the 1400-mark; cut for 24th place is 1140 (190 average)

    2014EBT08CarstenWarmingHansen.jpg2014EBT08EmilAgren.jpgCarsten Warming Hansen (pictured left) of Denmark and Swede Emil Ågren (right) both cracked the 1400-bar in Monday's Squads 4 and 5 to overtake the qualifying lead in the Odense International currently underway at Odense Bowling Center in Odense, Denmark.

    Hansen, a member of the Danish national teams, averaged 238.50 in Squad 4 including games of 258, 276, 200, 259, 229 and 209 to lead the field of 37 players from Denmark, Latvia, Poland and Sweden with 1431.

    2014EBT08DanOstergaard.jpg2014EBT01JesperAgerbo.jpgÅgren paced Squad 5 with 1408 (234.67 average) including a pair of 260s and 286 game, the highest game of the tournament so far. Day one leader, Dan Østergaard-Poulsen (left), Denmark, slipped to third place with 1381.

    Places 4 and 5 belong to Jesper Agerbo (right) and Rikke Holm Agerbo, Denmark's premiere bowling couple. Jesper, the 2012 Masters champion at the Men's European Championships in Vienna, Austria, rolled six games between 214 and 237 to move into fourth place with 1360. Rikke, who posted 1309 scratch including a 269 game and added 48 pins handicap for 1357, is the best of nine women in the field in fifth place.

    2013EBT16AnnaAndersson.jpg2013EBT14JolinePerssonPlanefors.jpgSweden's Anna Andersson (left) and two-time European Bowling Tour women's point ranking winner, Joline Persson Planefors (right; 2011 and 2013), are close behind in sixth and seventh place with 1334 and 1317, respectively.

    With 5 of 16 qualifying squads completed, Martin Wozny of Denmark holds the 24th and last place to qualify for Sunday's finals with 1140 or an average of 190.

    Qualifying continues Tuesday, May 27, with Squads 6 & 7 scheduled for 5 and 8 p.m. CEST. The top 2 players of a separate leaderboard of Squads 4-7, who will not finish in the top 24, will earn berths in the finals.

    The Odense International 2014 is the eighth stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and the third out of nine EBT "Satellite" tournaments this season. The tournament will be held from Sunday, May 25, through Sunday, June 1 at 24-lane Odense Bowling Center in Odense, Denmark.

    Players will compete for total prize money of 20.000 Euro with 4.000 Euro going to the winner, 2.500 to the runner-up and 1.100 apiece to the third and fourth place finishers. Low to cash is 36th place worth 220 Euro.

    2014EBT08OilPattern.jpg Qualifying (six games, unlimited re-entries) got underway on Sunday, May 25, with Squads 1-3 and runs through Saturday, May 31, with the final Squad 16 scheduled for 6 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST). Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 9 p.m.

    The Odense International 2014 features a 41-foot lane conditioning pattern with 24.166ml oil volume. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), a standard on the European Bowling Tour.

    A total of 36 players will qualify for the finals - the top 24 players from the overall qualifying standings plus the top two players each from the combined standings of Squads 1-3, 4-7 and 8-11, who are not among the top 24, one player each from the Turbo 1 and 2 list and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad.

    The Turbo 1 and 2 winners are the players with the highest score in the fifth (Turbo 1) and sixth (Turbo 2) game in any of the qualifying series (extra entry fee required).

    The top 10 qualifiers will receive bonus pins for the first round of the finals as follows: Qualifying winner: 140 pins; second place: 120 pins; third place: 100 pins; fourth place: 80 pins; fifth place: 60 pins; sixth place: 50 pins; 7th place: 40 pins; 8th place: 30 pins; 9th place: 20 pins; and 10th place: 10 pins.

    All 36 finalists will bowl six games. The top 16 with the highest six-game total including bonus pins and women's handicap will advance to the second round with the pinfall being carried forward.

    Those 16 bowl another four games to cut to the top 8 who will be seeded 1-8 for the match play finals featuring one-game rounds. In each round the highest seeded player meets the lowest seeded player, the second-highest takes on the second-lowest and so on.

    The four winners of the Round of 8 plus two "lucky losers" (the two highest scoring players of the four losers) will advance. The three winners of the Round of 6 plus one lucky loser go to the semifinals. The winners of that round will bowl for the title.

    2014EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2014 European Bowling Tour features 20 tournaments in 14 countries. In its 15th season, the EBT consists of two Platinum, six Gold, three Silver and nine Satellite tournaments. The total prize fund exceeds one million Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the eighth EBT Masters July 6, 2015 in Asti, Italy.


    Related Articles

    Dan Østergaard-Poulsen paces opening day in Odense International 2014
    2014 European Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2014 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    2014 Odense International - Qualifying Standings after Squad 5/16

    The top 24 players from the overall qualifying standings plus the top two players each from the combined standings of Squads 1-3, 4-7 and 8-11, who are not among the top 24, one player each from the Turbo 1 and 2 list and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad will advance to Sunday's finals.