Larsen, Fransson move into second and third place in 14th Qatar Bowling Open


    2014 European Bowling Tour #19

    Swedes roll 1393 and 1374 series in Squad 7; USA's Marshall Kent continues to lead qualifying with 1448; score to make the cut in 34th place raises by 105 pins to 1216, or a 202.67 average

    2014EBT19MartinLarsen.jpg2014EBT16DanielFransson.jpgPBA Touring pro Martin Larsen (pictured left with Bandar Al Shafi, Secretary General of Qatar Bowling Federation) of Sweden and fellow national team member Daniel Fransson (right) led Squad 7 in the 14th Qatar Bowling Open Sunday at Qatar Bowling Center in Doha with 1393 and 1374, respectively to move into second and third place in the overall qualifying standings.

    Larsen averaged 232.17 including five games between 212 and 238 and a high game of 265 for 1393, the highest score on Sunday, to pocket a 250 U.S. Dollar bonus. Fransson was just 19 pins behind with 1374 including a high game of 286.

    2014EBT19MarshallKent2.jpg2014EBT11ChrisSloan.jpgMarshall Kent (left), United States, continued to lead the field of 58 players from 16 countries with 1448 and an average of 241.33. Johnni Adsbøl of Denmark slipped from second to fourth place with 1368 followed by Swede Magnus Johnson in fifth place with 1354 including the tournament's lone 300 game thus far.

    Chris Sloan (right), a two-hander from Ireland, led Squad 8 on Sunday evening with 1352 including high games of 269 and 254 to overtake sixth place overall. Like last year, Cameron Weier (below left), United States, led the sixth qualifying squad, this time with 1343 (compared to 1376 in 2013) boosted by a 290 game to leap into seventh place.

    2013EBT19CameronWeier.jpg2014WYCMastersMichaelMak.jpgFormer World Champion Mai Ginge Jensen of Denmark is the best of four women in the field in ninth place with 1313 including 48 pins women's handicap. Mohammed Al-Merekhi, who was next to Larsen and Fransson in Squad 7 with 1293 became the best Qatari bowler in 13th place.

    With eight of 17 qualifying squads completed, Michael Mak (right) of Hong Kong holds the 34th and last spot to advance to the finals with 1216 and an average of 202.67.

    Qualifying continues Monday, Nov. 24, with squads 9-11 starting at noon, 4 and 8 p.m. local time. The bowler with the highest series on Monday will receive a $250 bonus.

    2014QatarOpenLogo2.jpg The 14th Qatar Bowling Open is the 19th and final stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and will be held from Nov. 21-27 at the Qatar Bowling Center in Doha. With total prize fund of 161,000 U.S. Dollar or roughly 125,000 Euro the Qatar Open is one of two "Platinum" tournaments this season, the EBT's highest tournament category.

    $40,000 will be going to the winner, $20,000 to the runner-up and $7.000 apiece to the third and fourth place finishers. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (max. is 300), a standard on the European Bowling Tour.

    Qualifying (6 games, unlimited re-entries) runs from Friday, Nov. 21 through Wednesday, Nov. 26 with the final Squad 17 scheduled to start at 8 p.m. local time. Qualifying will conclude with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 11 p.m.

    Local Time is Arabia Standard Time (AST) - Central European Time (GST -2 hours), Eastern Standard Time (GST -8 hours) and Hong Kong Time (GST +5 hours).

    Total of 43 players including the top 34 in the overall qualifying standings, the top 2 each of the Nov. 21 (#1 & 2), 22 (#3-5) and 23 squads (#6-8) and the top 3 of the Desperado Squad advance to the finals on Thursday, Nov. 27. The top 10 qualifiers will receive a first-round bye.

    The other 33 finalists will bowl six games scratch with the top 18 advancing to the second round. Those 18 and the 10 qualifying leaders will roll another six-game block scratch to cut to the top 4, who will advance to the semifinals.

    The No. 1 bowls No. 4 and the No. 2 bowls No. 3 with the two-game total pinfall determining the winner. The two semifinal winners will bowl for the title and the 30.000 Euro top prize in the championship match (two games total pins).

    2014EBTLogo_small.jpg In its 15th season, the 2014 European Bowling Tour features 19 tournaments in 13 countries including two Platinum, six Gold, three Silver and eight Satellite tournaments. Total prize fund is almost one million Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the eighth EBT Masters July 6, 2015 at Bowling ChamartĂ­n in Madrid, Spain, immediately following the III Brunswick Madrid Challenge.

    WBTLogo_small.jpg The 2014 Qatar Bowling Open is also the third stop of the 2015 World Bowling Tour and will award a PBA international title if won by a PBA member. In order for a woman to earn a PBA Tour title, she must bowl the event without receiving handicap pins.

    The 2015 World Bowling Tour, which got underway in October with the PBA World Championship, currently consists of 15 tournaments in Arabia (6), United States (5), Asia (2) and Europe (2).

    Players earn ranking points based on how they finish in each event. The current points system is based on a continuous two-year cycle. The top three men and top three women in the points list will compete in the season-ending World Bowling Tour Finals in November in Las Vegas, Nevada, United States.


    Related Articles

    Marshall Kent averages over 240 to take early lead in 14th Qatar Bowling Open
    Dominic Barrett wins his 8th EBT and 3rd PBA title in 13th Qatar Bowling Open
    2014 European Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2014 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women
    2015 World Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions, Men's and Women's Ranking Winners


    14th Qatar Bowling Open - Qualifying Standings after Squad 8/17

    Total of 43 players including the top 34 in the overall qualifying standings, the top 2 each of the Nov. 21 (places 35 & 36), Nov. 22 (places 37 & 38) and Nov. 23 squads (places 39 & 40) plus the top 3 of the Desperado Squad advance to the finals on Thursday, Nov. 27. The top 10 qualifiers will receive a first-round bye.