Jord van Weeren leads Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel field into finals


    2015 European Bowling Tour #3

    Dutch youngster averages 248.50 to earn a 1.000 Euro bonus as field cut to top 46; Squad 14 leader James Gruffman grabs sixth place to earn a first-round bye; score to make the cut in 36th place is 1355 (225.83 average)

    2015EBT03JordvanWeeren2.jpg2015EBT03HumbertoVazquez2.jpgJord van Weeren (pictured left), Netherlands, trying for his first European Bowling Tour title, led a field of 46 players, 41 men and five women, into the finals of the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2015 Sunday at Dolfijn Bowling in Tilburg, Netherlands.

    van Weeren, who rolled one of two 300 games in qualifying, led the tournament since squad 5 after posting 1491, an average of 248.50, including games of 256, 247, 259 and 243 triplicate. He received a 1.000 Euro bonus and a first-round bye for the finals.

    2015EBT03JesperSvensson2.jpg2014EBT17JamesGruffman.jpgJoining Van Weeren in Final Round Two were second-place Humberto Vazquez (above right; 1460), one of six Mexican bowlers in the field; two-handed lefty Jesper Svensson (left; 1438), Sweden; Jeffrey van de Wakker (1429), Netherlands; World Trios Champion Carsten Warming Hansen (1427) of Denmark; and James Gruffman (1417) of Sweden.

    Gruffman (right) led the 14th and last qualifying squad on Saturday evening by just one pin over 2014 European Champions Cup winner Birgit Pöppler (below left), Germany, who had to settle for seventh place with 1416 including 48 pins handicap.

    2015EBT03JaroslavLorenc.jpg 2014ECCBirgitPoppler.jpgThe duo pushed Martin Larsen, Sweden, from sixth to eighth place. The multiple world champion and 8-time European Bowling Tour titlist led Squad 13 with 1414. Peter Smits, Netherlands, who had the second perfecto of the tournament was ninth with 1405.

    Jaroslav Lorenc (right), Czech Republic, paced the first squad on Saturday (12th overall) with 1394 to make the first cut in 14th place. Former German national team member Michael Krämer took the 36th and last place to qualify directly for the finals with 1355 or an average of 225.83.

    Players ranked 7th to 36th will be joined in Final Round One by six players from a separate leaderboard of the first five squads, who were not among the top 36, and the top four players of one-game Desperado Squad, which concluded qualifying Saturday evening.

    World Trios Champion Frederik √ėhrgaard of Denmark led the 39-player field with 258 and was followed by his compatriots Jimmy Mortensen (245) and Anders Lousdal (243). Richard Teece of England took the last spot with 242.


    The Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2015 is the third event of the 2015 European Bowling Tour and the first of three "EBT Silver" events this season, the third highest of the four EBT categories.

    The HBST will be held from Sunday, February 8 through Sunday, February 15 at 20-lane Dolfijn Bowling Tilburg in Tilburg, Netherlands.

    Players will compete for total prize money of 44.400 Euro with 6.000 Euro going to the winner, 4.000 to the runner-up and 3.000 and 2.000 to third and fourth place finishers, respectively. Low to cash is 46th place (400 Euro). Qualifying leader Jord van Weeren, Netherlands, got a 1.000 Euro bonus.

    Qualifying ran through Saturday, Feb. 14 and concluded with the Desperado Squad. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events.

    A total of 46 players including the top 36 qualifiers, the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of Squads 1-5 conducted Feb. 8-11 and the top 4 from the Desperado Squad advanced to the finals. The top 6 qualifiers received a first-round bye.

    Players ranked 7 to 46 will bowl four games with the top 18 players joining the top six qualifiers (seeded 1-6) in the eliminator finals. Those 24 players will be divided into six groups of four players each for the first of four eliminator rounds.

    All four players of each group will bowl a two-game match with the two lowest scoring players eliminated. The two highest scoring players advance to the next round. In the first round four "lucky losers" (four highest third-place finishers) also advance.

    The field will be cut to 16, 8 and then four players, who determine the top 4 spots in the last eliminator round.

    2015EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2015 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 18 tournaments in 14 countries featuring three "Platinum" events, three "Gold", three "Silver" and nine "Satellite" events. All 18 tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 900.000 Euro (approx. 1.024 million U.S. Dollar).

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the 9th EBT Masters July 25, 2016 at Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino following the San Marino Open.


    Related Articles

    Swedes Larsen, Olsson, Johnsson crack top 10 at Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament
    Squad 7 & 8 leaders Svensson, Hansen move into the top 6 in Tilburg
    Jord van Weeren shoots 243 triplicate to lead Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament
    Mexico's Alejandro Cruz paces Squad 4, moves into top 6 in Tilburg, Netherlands
    Mexico's Humberto Vazquez moves to the top at Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament
    Gery Verbruggen tops Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2015 after opening day
    Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2015 - Tournament Preview
    2015 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2015 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2015 - Standings after Qualifying and Desperado Squad

    The top 36 qualifiers plus the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of Squads 1-5 (places 37-42) and the top 4 from the Desperado Squad (places 43-46) advance to the finals. The top 6 qualifiers receive a first-round bye.

    300 games (2) - Jord van Weeren, Peter Smits.

    Tie Rules (Qualifying)
    In case of a tie in the qualifying, "the highest positioned player will be the player scoring the highest total of all counting qualification games minus the score of the lowest game. If a tie still exists, the highest positioned player will be the player with the highest total of all counting qualification games minus the score of the two lowest games, etc."