Pontus Andersson leads Odense International as qualifying reaches halfway mark


    2015 European Bowling Tour #8

    Swede paces the 68-player field with 1455 (242.50 average); score to make the cut in 24th place is currently 1269 (211.50 average)

    2015EBT08PontusAndersen.jpgThe qualifying of the Odense International, an EBT Satellite event currently underway in Odense, Denmark, has reached its halfway mark Wednesday evening at Odense Bowling Center.

    With eight out of 15 qualifying squads in the books, Sweden's Pontus Andersson (pictured left) held on to the lead in the 68-player field from England, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and the host country Denmark averaging 242.50 for six games.

    2015EBT08JimmyMortensen.jpgThe World Youth Champion in Doubles in 2014 had a 1455 series in Monday's Squad 5 including back-to-back 299 in games two and three.

    2015EBT08JanAndersen.jpgDanish national team members Jimmy Mortensen (right) and Mai Ginge Jensen are the only other players who surpassed the 1400-mark. Mortensen had 1408 in Squad 4 including a 290 last game. Jensen is the best of 14 women in third place with 1357 scratch, an average of 226.17, and 1405 total, including eight pins handicap each game.

    Jan Andersen (left), Denmark, averaged 219.83 to lead Squad 8 on Wednesday evening and to move into 14th place with 1319. Andersen had games of 253, 233, 205, 195, 196 and 237. Two time PBA champion and World Champion in Trios (2014), Thomas Larsen was second with 1299, good for 17 place.

    Kent Wigman toppled 1269 pins, an average of 211.50, and is currently the man "on the bubble" in 24th place. Qualifying continues on Thursday, May 28, with Squads 9 & 10 scheduled to start at 5 and 8 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).



    The Odense International 2015 is the eighth stop of the 2015 European Bowling Tour and the fourth out of nine EBT "Satellite" tournaments this season. The tournament will be held from May 24-31 at 24-lane Odense Bowling Center in Odense, Denmark.

    Players will compete for total prize money of 20.000 Euro with 4.000 Euro going to the winner, 2.500 to the runner-up and 1.100 apiece to the third and fourth place finishers. Low to cash is 36th place worth 220 Euro.

    Qualifying (six games, unlimited re-entries) got underway on Sunday, May 24, with Squads 1-3 and runs through Saturday, May 31, with the final Squad 15 scheduled for 6 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST). Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 9 p.m.

    The Odense International 2015 features a 40-foot lane conditioning pattern with 26.51ml oil volume. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events.

    Total 36 players will qualify for the finals - the top 24 players from the overall qualifying standings, the top two players each from a separate leaderboard of Squads 1-3, 4-6 and 7-10, who are not among the top 24, one player each from the Turbo 1 and 2 list and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad.

    The Turbo 1 and 2 winners are the players with the highest score in the fifth (Turbo 1) and sixth (Turbo 2) game in any of the qualifying series (extra entry fee required).

    The top 10 qualifiers will receive bonus pins for the first round of the finals as follows: Qualifying winner: 140 pins; second place: 120 pins; third place: 100 pins; fourth place: 80 pins; fifth place: 60 pins; sixth place: 50 pins; 7th place: 40 pins; 8th place: 30 pins; 9th place: 20 pins; and 10th place: 10 pins.

    All 36 finalists will bowl six games. The top 16 with the highest six-game total including bonus pins and women's handicap will advance to the second round with the total being carried forward.

    Those 16 bowl another four games to cut to the top 8 who will be seeded 1-8 for the match play finals featuring one-game rounds. In each round, the highest seeded player selects his opponent, then the second-highest seeded player, and so on.

    The four winners of the Round of 8 plus two "lucky losers" (the two highest scoring players of the four losers) will advance. The three winners of the Round of 6 plus one lucky loser go to the semifinals. The winners of that round will bowl for the title.

    2015EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2015 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 17 tournaments in 13 countries featuring three "Platinum" events, three "Gold", three "Silver" and eight "Satellite" events. All 17 tournaments together offer total prize fund of 870.000 Euro or 970.000 U.S. Dollar.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the 9th EBT Masters July 25, 2016 at Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino following the San Marino Open.


    Related Articles

    Swede Pontus Andersson holds on to the lead after seven qualifying squads in Odense International
    Liz Johnson defeats Mai Ginge Jensen to win her second EBT title in Odense International
    2015 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2015 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    2015 Odense International - Qualifying Standings after Squad 8/15

    The top 24 players from the overall qualifying standings, the top two players each from the combined standings of Squads 1-3, 4-6 and 8-10, who are not among the top 24, one player each from the Turbo 1 and 2 list and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad will advance to Sunday's finals.

    Tie Rules (Qualifying)
    In case of a tie in the qualifying, "the highest positioned player will be the player scoring the highest total of all counting qualification games minus the score of the lowest game. If a tie still exists, the highest positioned player will be the player with the highest total of all counting qualification games minus the score of the two lowest games, etc."