Women's World Championships set to begin in Abu Dhabi


    Team USA News

    By Matt Cannizzaro, USBC Communications

    2015WWCLogo.jpg Zayed Sports City's Khalifa International Bowling Center again will open its doors to the best bowlers in the world for the 2015 Women's World Championships.

    The top women from 30 countries, 147 competitors in all, will make their way to Abu Dhabi for the first time since 1999, while the city and bowling center provided a memorable experience for competitors and fans at last year's Men's World Championships.

    The 2015 Women's World Championships will run from Dec. 7-13, with the opening ceremony scheduled for Dec. 6. Bowlers will compete for medals in six events - Singles, Doubles, Trios, Team, All-Events and Masters match play.

    2014BowlTVLogo_small.jpg 2014WYCMastersMattCannizzaroLucasWiseman.jpg All rounds of the event will be broadcast live on BOWL.com's BowlTV. For a complete schedule, click here.

    Pictured left are commentators Matt Cannizzaro and Lucas Wiseman (l-r) of USBC Communications, who will be doing the live streaming in Abu Dhabi.

    BowlingdigitalBanner.gif Bowlingdigital.com will provide onsite coverage of the 2015 Women's World Championships from Khalifa International Bowling Center in Abu Dhabi including reports, photos and results.

    2015BWCPressRoomHerbertBickel.jpg Pictured left is Herbert Bickel, owner/editor-in-chief of Bowlingdigital.com.

    Onsite coverage commences with the Opening Ceremonies and concludes with the Masters finals on Sunday, Dec. 13. Opening ceremonies will take place Sunday at 6 a.m. Eastern, and competition will get underway with singles Monday at 12 a.m. EDT.

    The last time the best female bowlers in the world met on the global stage was 2013, when a combined World Championships was held at Strike Zone Bowling Center inside Sunset Station in Henderson, Nevada, a suburb of Las Vegas.

    At the 2013 tournament, Korea claimed the coveted team title, giving the United States its fourth second-place finish in five World Championships. Team USA did win the team gold medal at the 2011 event in Hong Kong. Korea topped the medal table at the 2013 World Championships with four gold medals, two silver and a bronze.

    1999WCWomenTeamKorea.jpg 1999WCWomenSinglesKellyKulick.jpg In 1999, Korea (pictured left) outdistanced Colombia to win the team event, while the United States finished third. Korea also won trios. Team USA's Kelly Kulick (right), who will be participating again in 2015, earned the singles gold medal, while the doubles, all-events and masters titles all went to Australia.

    Joining Kulick on the Team USA squad will be Liz Johnson of Cheektowaga, New York, Stefanie Johnson of Grand Prairie, Texas, Shannon O'Keefe of O'Fallon, Illinois, Shannon Pluhowsky of Kettering, Ohio, and first-time World Championships participant Danielle McEwan of Stony Point, New York.

    Other countries scheduled to participate include: Australia, Bahamas, Canada, China, Chinese Taipei, Colombia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, England, Finland, Germany, Hong Kong, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran, Korea, Latvia, Malaysia, Mexico, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine, Venezuela and the host country United Arab Emirates.


    Related Articles

    Upcoming soon: Onsite coverage, live streaming of the 2015 Women's World Championships
    WTBA releases Bulletin No. 2 for the 2015 Women's World Championships
    Team USA squad for 2015 World Women's Championships announced
    2015 Women's World Championships reaches 30-country mark
    WTBA extends entry deadline for 2015 Women's World Championships until November 1st
    Bulletin No. 1 is out for 2015 Women's World Championships