Daniel Fransson wins qualifying of Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016


    2016 European Bowling Tour #3

    Swede earns 1.000 Euro bonus and leads 40 players into Sunday's finals; score to make the cut in 30th place is 1351 (225.17)

    2016EBT03DanielFransson.jpg2016EBT03MarawanAernoudt.jpgDaniel Fransson (pictured left) of Sweden won the qualifying of the European Bowling Tour's Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 which concluded Saturday with the last three squads and the one-game Desperado Squad at Dolfijn Bowling Tilburg in Tilburg, Netherlands.

    Fransson, who received a 1.000 Euro bonus, led the field of 180 players, 150 men and 30 women, from 16 countries with 1451 pinfall total and an average of 241.83.

    The top 30 qualifiers plus the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of Squads 1-5 and the top 4 from the Desperado Squad advanced to the finals.

    2015EBT04MarkusBergendorff2.jpg2015WWCMastersNadineGeissler.jpgMarawan Aernoudt (right) of Belgium was second with 1428. Fransson and Aernoudt received two byes.

    Mats Maggi, Belgium, remained in third place with 1417. Markus Bergendorff (left), a two-handed bowler from Denmark, closed out squad 13 with games of 258, 246 and 256 to jump into fourth place with 1415.

    Squad 12 leader Nadine Geissler (right) of Germany was the best woman in the field in fifth place with 1407, including 48 pins handicap. Geissler had games of 235, 232, 228, 236, 193 and 235 for 1359 scratch, an average of 226.50.

    2016EBT03MarkJacobs.jpgJimmy Ravez of Belgium, who posted the first 1400-series of the tournament in squad 2, finished qualifying in sixth place with 1405. Mark Jacobs (left), Netherlands, led the last squad 14 with 1389 behind games of 217, 259, 208, 244, 195 and 266 to leap into seventh place.

    2016EBT03YouriFens.jpgRounding out the top 8, who earned a earned a first-round bye, was Pontus Andersson of Sweden with 1389 and an average of 231.50.

    Youri Fens (right), a 19-year-old local bowler, who closed out the third qualifying squad with back-to-back 300 games, made the first cut in 17th place with 1375.

    Richard Teece of England and Geraldine Ng of Singapore tied for 30th place at 1351 (225.17 average). Teece advanced to the finals as he had the higher five-game series, which broke the tie.


    The Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 is the third event of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the first of four "EBT Silver" events this season, the third highest of the four EBT categories.

    The HBST will be held from Sunday, February 8 through Sunday, January 31 through Sunday, February 7, at 20-lane Dolfijn Bowling Tilburg in Tilburg, Netherlands, and will be contested on a 41 foot oil pattern with 28.25 mL volume oil total.

    Players will compete for total prize money of 41.000 Euro with 5.000 Euro going to the winner, 3.000 to the runner-up and 2.000 and 1.500 to third and fourth place finishers, respectively. Low to cash is 40th place (500 Euro). The qualifying leader and the winner of squad 6 each get a 1.000 Euro bonus.

    Qualifying ran through Saturday, February 14 and concluded with the one-game Desperado Squad. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events.

    Total 40 players advanced to the finals on Sunday, February 7, including the top 30 qualifiers, the top 4 from the Desperado Squad and the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of Squads 1-5 who are outside the top 30. The top 2 qualifiers received two byes, qualifiers 3-8 earned a first-round bye.

    Players ranked 9 to 40 will bowl four games with the top 18 players joining the qualifiers 3-8 (seeded 1-6) in the eliminator finals. Those 24 players will be divided into six groups of four players each for the first of four eliminator rounds.

    All four players of each group will bowl a two-game match with the two lowest scoring players eliminated. The two highest scoring players advance to the next round. In the first round two "lucky losers" (the two highest third-place finishers) will also advance.

    The field will be cut to 16, 8 and then four players, who determine the top 4 places in the last eliminator round.

    2016EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three "Platinum" events, three "Gold", four "Silver" and six "Satellite" events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters February 27, 2017, at Dolfijn Bowling in Tilburg, Netherlands.

    The 2016 European Bowling Tour commences with the 10th International Wroclaw Open, a "satellite" tournament, which will be held from Feb. 17-21 at Galeria Rozrywki Miraz in Wroclaw, Poland.


    Related Articles

    Daniel Fransson continues to lead after qualifying squad 11/14
    Sweden's Daniel Fransson rises to the top
    Germany's Sebastian Lange, Dirk Dreyer crack the top 6 in qualifying squad 5
    Belgium's Marawan Aernoudt averages 238 to take the qualifying lead
    Dutch youngster Youri Fens rolls back-to-back 300 in Squad 3
    Belgian bowlers Ravez, Fronville, Claessens dominate opening day
    Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 - Tournament Preview
    Swede Markus Jansson shoots big last game to claim his first EBT title in HBST 2015
    2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 - Final Qualifying Standings

    Top 30 qualifiers plus the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of Squads 1-5 (places 31-36) and the top 4 from the Desperado Squad (places 37-40) advance to the finals; top 2 qualifiers will receive two byes, qualifiers 3-8 will earn a first-round bye.

    300 games - Youri Fens (2)