Dominic Barrett overtakes qualifying lead in Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament


    2010 European Bowling Tour #2

    Beats out Osku Palermaa for Hammer BIG Bonus of 1.000 Euro

    2010EBT02DominicBarrett.jpgIn a battle between the top 2 in the European Bowling Tour rankings for the past two years, Dominic Barrett (pictured left), England, topped 3-time defending EBT ranking champion Osku Palermaa, Finland, to overtake the qualifying lead in the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament Thursday at Dolfijn Bowling Tilburg in Tilburg, Netherlands.

    Barrett had games of 280, 257, 245, 236, 250 and 223 to lead Squad 5 with 1491 total (248.50 avg.) and to beat out Palermaa for the Hammer BIG Bonus of 1.000 Euro for the squad leader by 16 pins. Palermaa, who had six games between 257 and 237, moved into second place in the overall qualifying standings with 1475 (245.83).

    2010EBT02PeterSmits.jpgPeter Smits (right), Netherlands, led Squad 7 with 1373 six-game total including high games of 245, 246 and 247 en route to move into third place. Michael Krämer, Germany, and Martin Larsen, Sweden, who were third and fourth in Squad 5, sit in 4th and 5th place with 1341 and 1339, respectively.

    Previous leaderMaarten Pittens, Netherlands, slipped to 6th place with 1329. His fellow countrywoman Lisanne Breeschoten the best of women in the field of 171 players in 7th place with 1326 including 48 pins handicap.

    2009NOMadsDandbakken.jpgSquad 6 leader Mads Sandbækken (left), Norway, is currently in 15th place with 1303. With another six squads to go, three each on Friday and Saturday, Marco Sigmond, Netherlands, holds the 38th and final spot to advance with 1243 (207.17).

    The Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2010 will be held from Sunday, Feb. 7 through Sunday Feb. 14 at 20-lane Dolfijn Bowling Tilburg in Tilburg, Netherlands. The tournament is the second stop of the 2010 European Bowling Tour and one of the Tour's "Silver" tournaments.

    Once again the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament will be contested on dual lane condition. The left lane is dressed with the 46 feet long pattern (pdf file), the right lane with the 33 feet short pattern (pdf file).

    Players will compete for total prize money of 51.200 Euro or approximately 70.000 USD. The champion will walk away with the 8.000 Euro top prize.

    Three-time defending European ranking champion Osku Palermaa, Finland, is the defending champion. Ghislaine van der Tol, Netherlands, won the women's rankings in Tilburg in 2009.

    Qualifying runs through Saturday Feb. 13 with the final qualifying squad scheduled for 6pm. Qualifying ends with the ultimate one-game Desperado Squad slated for 9.30pm. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game, a standard on the European Bowling Tour.

    A total of 48 players - the top 38 qualifiers, the top 4 from the Desperado Squad and the top six from a separate leaderboard of the squads contested Feb. 7-9 - will advance to the finals on Sunday, Feb. 14. The top 8 qualifiers will receive three byes, while qualifiers 9-16 will earn two byes.

    The players will be divided into eight groups of four players each and will determine the champion in six rounds over two games total pinfall. The top two players from each group will advance to the next round and will be reseeded according to pinfall in the previous round.

    The field will be cut from 48 to 32, 24, 16, 8 and the then four, who will battle it out for the title.


    Related Articles

    Ghislaine van der Tol leads Extra Squad in Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel
    Hong Kong's Eric Tseng cracks top 5 in Squad 4 at Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel
    Pittens, Breeschoten move to the top in Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament
    Dirk Baade takes the early lead in Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament


    Qualifying Standings after Squad 7