Dominic Barrett holds on to the lead in Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament


    2010 European Bowling Tour #2

    Wins also the Hammer Double Bonus in Squad 8

    2010EBT02DominicBarrett3.jpg2009BWCMartinLarsen.jpgAfter taking the lead in the qualifying of the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament and winning the Hammer BIG Bonus of 1.000 Euro for leading Squad 5, Dominic Barrett (left), England, laced up his shoes again in Squad 8 en route to earn the Hammer Double Bonus of 500 Euro.

    Barrett felled 1396 pins including high games of 266, 256 and 254 to beat out Swede Martin Larsen (right) for the bonus by 22 pins. Barrett held on to the lead with the 1491 six-game total from Squad 5.

    Osku Palermaa, the two-hander from Finland, remained in second place with 1475. Larsen leaped two spots into third place with 1374. Fourth place belonged to Peter Smits, Netherlands, with 1373.

    2010EBT01JesperAgerbo.jpg2009VOSlideToreTorgersen3.jpgJesper Agerbo (left), Denmark, overtook 5th place, also with 1373 but the lower last game, and Tore Torgersen (right), Norway, moved into 6th with 1363. Michael Krämer, Germany, slipped to 7th with 1341 followed by early leaderMaarten Pittens, Netherlands, with 1329.

    Squad 9 leader Wu Siu Hong tied Lisanne Breeschoten, Netherlands, and Anders Lousdal, Denmark, at 1326. Breeschoten (below right) remained the best of women in the field in 9th place while Lousdal sits in 10th and Wu in 11th place.

    2009BWCDarrenCundy2.jpg2009VOLisanneBreeschoten.jpgWith 197 players in the books, Darren Cundy (left), England, is the "man on the bubble" in 38th place with 1271 (211.83 avg.).

    The Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2010 will be held from Sunday, Feb. 7 through Sunday Feb. 14 at 20-lane Dolfijn Bowling Tilburg in Tilburg, Netherlands. The tournament is the second stop of the 2010 European Bowling Tour and one of the Tour's "Silver" tournaments.

    Once again the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament will be contested on dual lane condition. The left lane is dressed with the 46 feet long pattern (pdf file), the right lane with the 33 feet short pattern (pdf file).

    Players will compete for total prize money of 51.200 Euro or approximately 70.000 USD. The champion will walk away with the 8.000 Euro top prize.

    Three-time defending European ranking champion Osku Palermaa, Finland, is the defending champion. Ghislaine van der Tol, Netherlands, won the women's rankings in Tilburg in 2009.

    Qualifying runs through Saturday Feb. 13 with the final qualifying squad scheduled for 6pm. Qualifying ends with the ultimate one-game Desperado Squad slated for 9.30pm. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game, a standard on the European Bowling Tour.

    A total of 48 players - the top 38 qualifiers, the top 4 from the Desperado Squad and the top six from a separate leaderboard of the squads contested Feb. 7-9 - will advance to the finals on Sunday, Feb. 14. The top 8 qualifiers will receive three byes, while qualifiers 9-16 will earn two byes.

    The players will be divided into eight groups of four players each and will determine the champion in six rounds over two games total pinfall. The top two players from each group will advance to the next round and will be reseeded according to pinfall in the previous round.

    The field will be cut from 48 to 32, 24, 16, 8 and the then four, who will battle it out for the title.


    Related Articles

    Ghislaine van der Tol leads Extra Squad in Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel
    Hong Kong's Eric Tseng cracks top 5 in Squad 4 at Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel
    Pittens, Breeschoten move to the top in Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament
    Dirk Baade takes the early lead in Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament


    Qualifying Standings after Squad 9