Petteri Salonen finishes qualifying atop the leaderboard in Bowltech Aalborg International


    2010 European Bowling Tour #9

    Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark (May 24-30, 2010)

    2009EBT04PetteriSalonen.jpg2009EBT04MathiasArup.jpgMultiple European champion Petteri Salonen (pictured left), Finland, finished the qualifying of the Bowltech Aalborg International 2010 atop the leaderboard to lead a total of 48 players into the finals on Sunday at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark.

    Salonen led the field of 173 players - 123 men and 50 women - from 11 countries with 1480 six-game total and an average of 246.67. Mathias √Örup (right), Sweden, posted the highest score on Saturday when he led Squad 12 with 1466 (244.33). The Swedish international sandwiched games of 219, 236, 226 and 225 between high games of 270 and 290.

    2009VOKamillaKjeldsen4.jpg2010NationsCupPaulMoor.jpg2009 BAI winner Martin Larsen, Sweden, was third with 1447. Kamilla Kjeldsen (left), Denmark, was the best of eight women above the cut line (38th place) with 1445 including 48 pins handicap and a scratch average of 232.83.

    3-time European Bowling Tour ranking champion Paul Moor (right), England, rolled a 1434 series including a 290 game in the 14th and final qualifying squad to jump into 5th place. 8-time PBA champion and current EBT men's ranking leader, Mika Koivuniemi, Finland, was 6th with 1428 and was followed by Björn Einar Rudshagen, Norway, with 1422.

    2010EBT05ThomasLarsen.jpg2010EBT04AndersLousdal.jpgDane Thomas Larsen (left), the sole player who achieved perfection during the qualifying on dual lane condition, improved his high score to 1419 after leading Squad 11 on Saturday morning, good for 8th place overall. His compatriot Anders Lousdal (right) led Squad 13 with the same result to land in 9th place due to the lower last game (218 to Larsen's 225).

    Rounding out the top 10 was Paul Hutchinson, Denmark, with 1416. Tore Torgersen, Norway (1402) and Martin Paulsson, Sweden (1401), were the 11th and 12th player, who cracked the 1400-bar.

    Rebecka Larsen Jr., Sweden, hit the cutoff number for 38th place with 1356 and beat out Mikael Brändeskov, Denmark, for the final spot to advance due to the higher last game (227 to 221).

    Brändeskov and his compatriots Carsten W. Hansen, Johnni Adsböl, John Guldbäk, Stefan Jensen and Morten Olsen advanced from the separate leaderboard of Squads 1-3 and 4-6.

    Qualifying ended on early Sunday morning with the one-game Desperado Squad. Three women - Ghislaine van der Tol, Netherlands (264), Roosa Lundén, Finland (254) and Kirsten Penny, England (253) - and Christer Aker, Norway (248) earned a berth into the finals.

    BowltechAalborgOpenLogo_small.jpg The Bowltech Aalborg International 2010 will be held from May 18-24 at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark and offers total prize fund of 62.000 Euro with 10.000 Euro going to the winner. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game. a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour

    The tournament is the 9th stop of the 2010 European Bowling Tour and one of the Tour's "Gold" tournaments. Since the Ankara Open and the Austria Challenge have been cancelled, the 2010 EBT Tour consists of 19 events - 2 EBT Platinum tournament (formerly Premier), 6 EBT Gold tournaments (formerly Major), 7 EBT Silver tournaments (formerly Challenger) and 4 EBT Satellite tournaments (new category).

    2009BWCMartinLarsen3_small.jpg2009WWCKristaPollanen_small.jpg Martin Larsen (left) from Sweden is the defending champion. Larsen topped Tore Torgersen, Norway, 457 to 449 in the 2009 title match over two games total pinfall to claim his fifth EBT title and the 10.000 Euro top prize. Krista Pöllänen (right), Finland, finished in 6th place en route to win the women's ranking.

    Qualifying ran from Monday, May 24th through Saturday, May 29th and concluded with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 11.30 p.m. on Saturday night.

    A total of 48 players qualified for the finals on Sunday, May 30th - the top 38 players from the overall qualifying standings plus the top three players each from a combined standing of Squads 1-3 and 4-6 which are not among the top 38, and the top 4 from the Desperado Squad.

    The top 12 qualifiers earned two byes while players seeded 13-24 will bypass the first round of the finals.

    Rounds 1-4 will feature 4-game blocks starting from scratch which will trim the field to 36, 24, 12 and then four who will advance to the semifinals. The No. 1 player of Round 4 bowls the No. 4 and No. 2 meets No. 3 to determine the finalists who will bowl for the title. The semifinals and the championship match are matches with the total pinfall determining the winner.

    Immediately following the Bowltech Aalborg International 2010 is the 3rd EBT Masters, the season-ending event of the 2009 European Bowling Tour, which will be held May 31st and June 1st at Lovvang Bowling Center.


    Related Articles

    Petteri Salonen shoots 1480 to lead the field into final qualifying day in Aalborg
    Danes still in control of the leaderboard in Bowltech Aalborg International
    Jesper Agerbo overtakes second place in qualifying at Bowltech Aalborg International
    Three players move into top 10 in qualifying at Bowltech Aalborg International
    Kamilla Kjeldsen takes the early lead in Bowltech Aalborg International


    Standings after Qualifying and Desperado Squad

    The top 38 players from the overall qualifying standings plus the top three players each from a combined standing of Squads 1-3 (places 39-41) and 4-6 (places 42-44) and the top 4 from the Desperado Squad (places 45-48) advanced to the finals.

    300 games (1) - Thomas Larsen, Denmark.