Robert Andersson cracks 1400-bar to take the lead in 1st Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open


    2010 European Bowling Tour #10

    2010EBT10RobertAndersson.jpg2010EBT1MadsSandbakken.jpgSwedish national team member Robert Andersson (pictured left) became the first player in the 1st Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open who cracked the 1400-bar Friday at Dream Bowl Palace in Unterföhring, Germany, en route to take the lead in qualifying with 1471 six-game total and an average of 245.17.

    The world champion in Doubles (with Martin Larsen) at the 2006 Men's World Championship in Busan, Korea, started his series with 245, 217, 214 before he averaged 264 for the last three games (265, 264, 266) to take the pole.

    Trailing Andersson by 78 pins to sit in second place was Mads Sandbækken (right), Norway, who led the last Squad on Friday, 10th overall, with 1393 and an average of 232.17. Previous leader Stuart Williams, England, slipped to third place with 1389 and is followed by Perttu Jussila, Finland (1388) and Bodo Konieczny, Germany (1385).

    2010EBT10PasiUotila.jpg2010EBT10MohommadKamel.jpgThe top 5 are half of the squad leaders who are automatically qualified for the finals on Sunday. Four of the other five, Mohammed Kamel (left), Kuwait (8th; 1371), Squad 8 leader Pasi Uotila (right), Finland (11th; 1358), Christian Rechenberg (below right), Germany (13th; 1347) and Michael Holzapfel, Germany (15th; 1335) are still among the top 16 who will bypass one (places 9-16) and two rounds (places 1-8) of the finals.

    Squad 3 leader Peter Knopp, Germany, fresh off a third place finish in the USBC Senior Masters two weeks ago, is currently in 19th place with 1329.

    2009VOMikStampe.jpg2010EBT10ChristianRechenberg.jpgSabrina Laub, Germany, is the best of 29 women and the sole among the top 30 with 1307 including 48 pins handicap, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour. The top 29 players including Jens Nickel (1304), Germany, topped the 1300-mark.

    With 196 players in the books, Mik Stampe (left), Denmark, holds the 30th place with 1299 or an average of 216.50. With all 10 squad leaders currently in the top 30, Jesse Kallio, Finland, is the "man on the bubble" in 40th place with 1278 or an average of 213.00.

    Qualifying will end on Saturday with Squad 11-14 slated for 8am, noon, 4 and 8pm and concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad at 11.30 p.m. (All times CET).

    DBPOpenLogo_small.jpg The 1st Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open is a newcomer on the European Bowling Tour and will be staged from June 27 thru July 4 at Dream Bowl Palace in Unterföhring, Germany. The state-of-the-art 52-laner, the biggest bowling center in Europe, will host the Men's World Championship in August.

    The DPB Open offers total prize fund of 50.000 Euro with 10.000 Euro going to the winner. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour.

    The tournament is the 10th stop of the 2010 European Bowling Tour and one of the Tour's "Silver" tournaments. Since the Ankara Open and the Austria Challenge have been cancelled, the 2010 EBT Tour consists of 19 events - 2 EBT Platinum tournament (formerly Premier), 6 EBT Gold tournaments (formerly Major), 7 EBT Silver tournaments (formerly Challenger) and 4 EBT Satellite tournaments (new category).

    A total of 48 players will qualify for the finals on Sunday, July 4th - between 30 and 44 players from the overall qualifying standings, the qualifying squad leaders (max 14) not among the top 30 plus the top 4 from the Desperado Squad.

    The top 8 qualifiers will earn two byes while players seeded 9-16 will bypass the first round of the finals.

    Rounds 1-3 will feature 4-game blocks starting from scratch which will trim the field to 32, 20 and then 8 players who will advance to the quarterfinals. The format will switch to match play with the two-game total determining the winner. In each round the highest seeded player after Round 3 will meet the lowest seeded player, the second highest meets the second lowest, and so on.

    The winners of Round 4 advance to the semifinals to determine the finalists who will bowl for the title and the 10.000 Euro top prize.

    Photos: German Bowling Federation (DBU)


    Related Articles

    Stuart Williams, Perttu Jussila overtake qualifying lead in 1st Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open
    Germans in control of the leaderboard at 1st Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open


    Qualifying Standings after Squad 10/14

    Squad leaders (boldface) are automatically qualified, if they don't finish among the top 30. If a squad leader finishes among the top 30 or if a player wins multiple squads, No. 31 advances to finals and so on.