Home » Navigation » Europe » European Bowling Tour » Daniel Fransson wins first EBT title in Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel

Daniel Fransson wins first EBT title in Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel


2016EBT03DanielFransson3.jpg2015EBT13MikStampe2.jpgDaniel Fransson of Sweden rolled games of 264 and 206 in the last eliminator round to win his first European Bowling Tour title in the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 Sunday at Dolfijn Bowling in Tilburg, Netherlands.

Fransson (pictured left), who had three second-place finishes in the last three years on the EBT, toppled 470 pins and beat out three-time EBT titlist Mik Stampe (right) of Denmark (463) for the top spot by seven pins.

Pictured above are the top 4 of the Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016: L-R Mik Stampe (2nd), champion Daniel Fransson, Mats Maggi (3rd) and Martina Schütz (4th).

Mats Maggi of Belgium finished in third place with 438 and Martina Schütz of Germany was the best of 30 women in the 180 player field from 16 countries in fourth place with 408, including eight pins handicap each game.

Fransson earned the 5.000 Euro top prize, Stampe received 3.000 Euro for second place, Maggi got 2.000 Euro for third place and Schütz took home 1.500 Euro for fourth place.


The Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 was the third event of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the first of four “EBT Silver” events this season, the third highest of the four EBT categories.

The HBST was held from Sunday, February 8 through Sunday, January 31 through Sunday, February 7, at 20-lane Dolfijn Bowling Tilburg in Tilburg, Netherlands, and was contested on a 41 foot oil pattern with 28.25 mL volume oil total.

Players competed for total prize money of 41.000 Euro with 5.000 Euro going to the winner, 3.000 to the runner-up and 2.000 and 1.500 to third and fourth place finishers, respectively. Low to cash was 40th place (500 Euro). The qualifying leader and the winner of squad 6 each got a 1.000 Euro bonus.

Qualifying ran through Saturday, February 14 and concluded with the one-game Desperado Squad. Women received 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events.

Total 40 players advanced to the finals on Sunday, February 7, including the top 30 qualifiers, the top 4 from the Desperado Squad and the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of Squads 1-5 who are outside the top 30. The top 2 qualifiers received two byes, qualifiers 3-8 earned a first-round bye.

Players ranked 9 to 40 bowled four games with the top 18 players joining the qualifiers 3-8 (seeded 1-6) in the eliminator finals. Those 24 players were divided into six groups of four players each for the first of four eliminator rounds.

All four players of each group bowled a two-game match with the two lowest scoring players eliminated. The two highest scoring players advanced to the next round. In the first round, two “lucky losers” (the two highest third-place finishers) also advanced.

The field was cut to 16, 8 and then four players, who determined the top 4 places in the last eliminator round.

2016EBTLogo_small.jpgThe 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three “Platinum” events, three “Gold”, four “Silver” and six “Satellite” events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters February 27, 2017, at Dolfijn Bowling in Tilburg, Netherlands.

The 2016 European Bowling Tour commences with the 10th International Wroclaw Open, a “satellite” tournament, which will be held from Feb. 17-21 at Galeria Rozrywki Miraz in Wroclaw, Poland.


Related Articles

Daniel Fransson wins qualifying of Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016
Daniel Fransson continues to lead after qualifying squad 11/14
Sweden’s Daniel Fransson rises to the top
Germany’s Sebastian Lange, Dirk Dreyer crack the top 6 in qualifying squad 5
Belgium’s Marawan Aernoudt averages 238 to take the qualifying lead
Dutch youngster Youri Fens rolls back-to-back 300 in Squad 3
Belgian bowlers Ravez, Fronville, Claessens dominate opening day
Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 – Tournament Preview
Swede Markus Jansson shoots big last game to claim his first EBT title in HBST 2015
2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital – Men and Women


HBST 2016 – Championship Round (Final Standings)

Dolfijn Bowling Tilburg in Tilburg, Netherlands (Jan. 31 – Feb. 7, 2016)


Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 – Places 1-40 (Cashers)

Players with position, country and prize money

1. Daniel Fransson, Sweden, 5.000 Euro
2. Mik Stampe, Denmark, 3.000 Euro
3. Mats Maggi, Belgium, 2.000 Euro
4. Martina Schütz, Germany, 1.500 Euro
5. Jeroen van Geel, Netherlands, 1.250 Euro
6. Andre Michow, Germany, 1.250 Euro
7. Marawan Aernoudt, Belgium, 1.250 Euro
8. Marc Jacobs, Netherlands, 1.250 Euro
9. Wim Claessens, Belgium, 1.000 Euro
10. Hadley Morgan, England, 1.000 Euro
11. Richie Teece, England, 1.000 Euro
12. Tobia Börding, Germany, 1.000 Euro
13. Bernice Lim, Singapore, 1.000 Euro
14. Carsten Warming Hansen, Denmark, 1.000 Euro
15. Jeffrey v/d Wakker, Netherlands, 1.000 Euro
16. Christoph Schurian, Germany, 1.000 Euro
17. Markus Jansson, Sweden, 750 Euro
18. Oliver Morig, Germany, 750 Euro
19. Christian Karlsson, Sweden, 750 Euro
20. Jeroen van der Heide, Netherlands, 750 Euro
21. Sebastian Lange, Germany, 750 Euro
22. Pontus Andersson, Sweden, 750 Euro
23. Johnny Spil, Netherlands, 750 Euro
24. Markus Bergendorff, Denmark, 750 Euro
25. Nadine Geissler, Germany, 750 Euro
26. Jimmy Ravez, Belgium, 750 Euro
27. Ray Teece, England, 750 Euro
28. Tracy See, Singapore, 750 Euro
29. Svein Åke Ek, Norway, 500 Euro
30. Yoan Alix, France, 500 Euro
31. Laura Beuthner, Germany, 500 Euro
32. Youri Fens, Netherlands, 500 Euro
33. Emanuel Jonsson, Sweden, 500 Euro
34. Bianca Wiekeraad, Netherlands, 500 Euro
35. Maxime de Rooij, Germany, 500 Euro
36. Nicole Sanders, Netherlands, 500 Euro
37. Dirk Dreyer, Germany, 500 Euro
38. Cédric Andrik, Germany, 500 Euro
39. Johnny Fronville, Belgium, 500 Euro
40. Britt Brøndsted, Denmark, 500 Euro


Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 – Eliminator Finals Round 3

Two highest scoring players advance


Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 – Eliminator Finals Round 2

Two highest scoring players in each group advance


Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 – Eliminator Finals Round 1

Two highest scoring players in each group plus two “lucky losers” advance


Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2016 – Final Round One

Top 18 advance to the second round; *Ulsamer def. Johansson in 9th and 10th frame roll-off to break the tie for 18th place: places 19-40 finish in 25th to 46 place, earn 400 Euro.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.