Home » Navigation » World » Championships » Germany’s Pöppler, Beuthner set the tone in Women’s World Singles Championships

Germany’s Pöppler, Beuthner set the tone in Women’s World Singles Championships


2016WSCBirgitPopplerGermany’s Birgit Pöppler and Laura Beuthner finished the first qualifying round of the women’s World Singles Championships on the 40 foot Athens lane conditioning pattern atop the 53-player leaderboard Monday at the Qatar Bowling Center in Doha.

Pöppler (right), the 2012 European Bowling Tour women’s point ranking leader, followed a 215 opening game with back-to-back 248 and 246 and closed with 229 to lead the field after four of twelve qualifying games with 938 and an average of 234.50.

As the leader of first block, Pöppler received a $200 bonus awarded by the Qatar Bowling Federation.

2016WSCLauraBeuthnerBeuthner (left), who won the 2015 EBT Masters, came out of the gates with 256 and 257 but fell behind her teammate after closing with 200 and 189 for 902 total (225.50).

2016WSCClaraJulianaGuerreroTwo-time World Champion and World Cup champion, Clara Juliana Guerrero of Colombia started her series with a huge 278 game, the highest game in the women’s division thus far, and added 212, 209 and 202 to hold third place with 901 (225.25).

Kristie Lopez of Puerto Rico was fourth with 891, followed by 2012 WSC silver medalist Diana Zavjalova of Latvia with 883.

2016EBT09SinLiJane42016BWCLaraPosadasSin Li Jane (left) of Malaysia and Lara Posadas (right), Philippines, were the best bowlers of the Asian Bowling Federation (ABF) in sixth and seventh place with 879 and 875, respectively.

Rounding out the top 10 were three-time EBT women’s point ranking leader Britt Brøndsted of Denmark (8th, 871), 2016 PWBA Rookie of the Year New Hui Fen of Singapore (9th, 865) and long-time Finnish national team member Piritta Maja (10th, 864).

2016BWCJennyWegner22016PWBA13KellyKulick2016 World Cup champion Jenny Wegner (left) of Sweden sits in 11th place with 855 and was followed by defending World Singles Champion Kelly Kulick (right), United States, who was 12th with 847.

With the first of three four-game qualifying rounds completed, Ebru Özoğluuntur, Turkey, holds the 32nd and last place to advance with 756 or an average of 189.

The women are done for today and will return the lanes on Tuesday at 2.30 p.m. Arabia Standard Time (AST) for the second block.

2016WSCLogoThe 2016 World Singles Championships will be held Dec. 2-9 at Qatar Bowling Center in Doha, Qatar. Up to two men and two women from each member federation of World Bowling are eligible to compete in the second edition of the event. Each player must have reached the age of 15 years on January 1, 2016.

The Championships drew 134 players from 50 countries, including 81 men from 47 countries and 53 women from 33 countries.

After four days of qualifying featuring three four-game blocks, the top 32 players of each gender will advance. Men and women will be split into four groups according to the following bracket: Group A (1, 8, 9, 16, 17, 24, 25, 32); Group B (2, 7, 10, 15, 18, 23, 26, 31); Group C (3, 6, 11, 14, 19, 22, 27, 30); and Group D (4, 5, 12, 13, 20, 21, 28, 29).

Each qualifying group shall bowl eight qualifying games. Each player in the qualifying group shall bowl against every other player in the group every game. Points shall be awarded on the following basis: The highest scoring player in each game shall be awarded 7 points, the second highest scoring shall be awarded 6 points, the third highest 5 points etc. down to the eighth highest, who will receive 0 points.

The top 2 from the point standing of each group will advance to play eight games in one group with a system as specified above.

The top 4 advance to the semifinals (No. 1 vs. No. 4 and No. 2 vs. No. 3), with the higher ranked players having the choice of the starting lane. The losers of both one-game matches will receive bronze medals.

The semifinal winners will determine the champion in a final one-game match. The winner of this match will receive a gold medal and the loser a silver medal.

The men’s gold medalist will receive US$8,000, the silver medalist will earn US$6,000 and the bronze medalists will take home US$3,000 apiece. The women’s gold medalist will receive US$6,000, the silver medalist will get US$4,000 and the bronze medalists will earn US$3,000 each. The prizes will be paid by the Qatar Bowling Federation which also offer daily high series awards, $300 for men and $200 for women.

For more details including the latest schedule, click here.

The World Singles Championships will be held every four years. The inaugural WSC was held at Galactica Bowling Center in Limassol, Cyprus (Sept. 18-26, 2012) and drew 128 players from 44 countries, 71 men from 40 countries and 57 women from 33 countries.

World Bowling provides governance to international bowling and is made up of 115 member federations within three geographical zones. For more information on the World Bowling Tour, click here.

Photos courtesy of Terrance Yaw, Asian Bowling Federation (ABF).

Related Articles

Slovakia’s Tomas Vrabec takes early lead in World Singles Championships
2016 World Singles Championships Preview
Chris Barnes beats Tommy Jones to win men’s World Singles Championships
Kelly Kulick is the women’s champion at 2012 WSC

2016 World Singles Championships – Women’s Qualifying Block 1/3

Top 32 after 12 games will advance

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.