Chris Barnes beats Tommy Jones to win men's World Singles Championships


    2012 WSC

    Gold and silver for the U.S., bronze for Finland's Osku Palermaa and Colombia's Andr茅s G贸mez


    201112PBAChrisBarnes.jpg 201112PBATommyJones.jpgIn an all-Team USA affair between two 13-time PBA champions, Chris Barnes (pictured left) defeated Tommy Jones (right), 212-198, to win the men's gold medal in the inaugural World Singles Championships Tuesday at Galactica Bowling Center in Limassol, Cyprus.

    In the semifinals, Barnes edged Colombia's Andres G贸mez, 246-244, while Jones flew past Osku Palermaa of Finland, 259-199. Jones received the silver medal, while G贸mez and Palermaa shared the bronze medal.

    It was the second consecutive individual title at World Championships for Barnes, who won the gold medal in Masters at the 2010 Men's World Championships in Germany.

    Opposite to the high-scoring semifinal matches, the title match was a lower scoring affair. Jones, the No. 2 seed, suffered a big split in his first frame and a spare in the second frame to give Barnes a head start.

    The No. 5 seed started with strike-spare and while both players added two strikes and single-pin spare, Barnes hold a 14-pin lead heading into the final five frames. He left a split in the sixth frame which he failed to convert but Jones, who narrowed the gap with a strike, immediately gave back the advantage after an open frame in the seventh.

    That was all a player of this caliber needed. Barnes reeled off three consecutive strikes to pull away and wrapped up the title with a spare and a strike on his fill ball. Jones, who closed out the match with a spare and three strikes plus seven on the fill ball, had to settle for the silver medal.

    201112PBAAndresGomez.jpgBarnes, however, had some hard work to do to advance to the title match. He started his semifinal match against G贸mez with an open frame, probably the best place for an open in this match, if there is any.

    The Colombian (left), who won his first PBA title in last season's World Series of Bowling, started with a strike, and then gave the advantage back when he opened in frame two. Barnes struck on his next three shots before he converted a single-pin spare in the fifth frame.

    2012EBT13OskuPalermaa.jpgG贸mez recovered from the open and fired seven consecutive strikes in frames 3-9, but only to hold a slim 11-pin lead heading into the final frame. He had a chance to strike out for 266 but left a single pin on his first ball which he converted and got another nine-count on the fill ball for 244.

    Barnes got up and needed strike-nine-spare for 246 en route to win the match and that was exactly what he got.

    In the other semifinal match, Jones and three-time PBA champion Palermaa (right) were tied for two frames as both players struck on the first two balls. While Jones connected for a six-bagger, the two-hander sandwiched two spares around two open frames to give the American an insurmountable lead.

    The Finn struck in the seventh, ninth and doubled in the tenth frame but Jones cruised to a 259-199 victory.

    Free live streaming was provided of the entire championships. To view the archived videos click here.

    Beginning in 2012, the World Singles Championships will be held every four years. The new event gives WTBA a world championship event every year, filling a void created under the previous calendar.

    The joint Combined World Championships will take place in 2013, the Men's World Championships will take place in 2014 and Women's World Championships in 2015. Each of those events are also held every four years.

    Related Articles

    Kelly Kulick is the women's 2012 World Singles Champion
    PBA champions Barnes, G贸mez, Jones, Palermaa to bowl for men's title
    Kulick, Cheah, Zavjalova, Zetter advance to Women's Semifinals
    Five PBA champions advance to Men's Quarterfinals
    No. 1 seed Kelly Kulick powers her way into the Quarterfinals
    Latvia's Diana Zavjalova comes back from a 2-0 deficit to win Round of 24 match
    Gross, Torgersen, Zulkifli win in five games in Round of 24
    USA's Kelly Kulick leads top 24 women into finals
    Malaysia's Syafiq Ridhwan earns No. 1 seed for Men's Finals
    Tommy Jones by a whisker, Martin Paulsson falls one pin short
    Russia's Alena Korobkova sets the pace after Squads 1 & 2
    Team USA's Kelly Kulick paces women's division after 6 games
    USA's Tommy Jones holds comfortable lead in men's division
    Russia's Alena Korobkova takes early lead in Women's Qualifying
    Tommy Jones takes commanding lead at World Singles Championships
    Block 1 Qualifying starts on Thursday, Sept. 20
    Players from 44 countries arrive at inaugural World Singles Championships
    Four Team USA members ready to tackle World Singles Championships
    47 countries to participate in inaugural WTBA World Singles Championships
    CBF releases Bulletin for the 2012 WTBA World Singles Championships


    2012 World Singles Championships - Men's Finals

    Galactica Bowling Center in Limassol, Cyprus (Sept. 18-26, 2012)

    Championship Round:
    1. Chris Barnes, United States
    2. Tommy Jones, United States
    3. Osku Palermaa, Finland and Andr茅s G贸mez, Colombia

    L-R Jones, Barnes, Palermaa and Gomez

    Playoff Results:
    Semifinal Match 1: No. 5 Barnes def. No. 9 G贸mez, 246-244
    Semifinal Match 2: No. 2 Jones def. No. 6 Palermaa, 259-199
    Championship: Barnes def. Jones, 212-198.

    Men's Division Final Standings (places 5-71)

    5. Syafiq Ridhwan, Malaysia
    6. Martin Paulsson, Sweden
    7. Stuart Williams, England
    8. Khaled Al-Dossari, Qatar
    9. Matt Miller, England
    10. Michael Mak, Hong Kong
    11. Mohammed Kamel, Kuwait
    12. Tore Torgersen, Norway
    13. Thomas Larsen, Denmark
    14. Thomas Gross, Austria
    15. Zulmazran Zulkifli, Malaysia
    16. Oliver Leroy, Belgium
    17. Mats Maggi, Belgium
    18. Kimmo Lehtonen, Finland
    19. Dennis Eklund, Sweden
    20. Mahmoud Mazloum, Egypt
    21. Catalin Gheorghe, Romania
    22. Jassim Abbas, Kuwait
    23. Michael Holzapfel, Germany
    24. Yousif Falah, Bahrain
    25. Wu Siu Hong, Hong Kong
    26. Sergey Isaev, Russia
    27. Stephan Unger, Germany
    28. Mansour Al-Hajri, Qatar
    29. Bj枚rn Einar Rudshagen, Norway
    30. Dan MacLelland, Canada
    31. Or Aviram, Israel
    32. Oleksandr Kalika, Ukraine
    33. Stavros Parasakis, Greece
    34. Mykhaylo Kalika, Ukraine
    35. Lukas Andrassy, Slovakia
    36. Mariusz Musialik, Poland
    37. Paul Stott, Ireland
    38. Marco Reviglio, Italy
    39. Hafthor Hardarson, Iceland
    40. Jord van Weeren, Netherlands
    41. Abdulla Fawaz, Bahrain
    42. Romeo Gagenoiu, Romania
    43. Jaime Monroy, Colombia
    44. Orestis Papadopoulos, Cyprus
    45. Jan Macek, Czech Republic
    46. George Tziotis, Greece
    47. Nati Volpert, Israel
    48. Marcio Vieira, Brazil
    49. Justin Scicluna, Malta
    50. Linas Sasnauskas, Lithuania
    51. Dmitrijs Cebotarjovs, Latvia
    52. Roberto Silva, Mexico
    53. Phil Hulst, Netherlands
    54. Kanstantsin Karazeyey, Belarus
    55. Pavel Sobolev, Belarus
    56. Rankin Camilleri, Malta
    57. Mohamed Al-Marzooqi, UAE
    58. Slavoljub Miljkovic, Serbia
    59. Martin Siroky, Czech Republic
    60. Andreas Karistianos, Cyprus
    61. Anton Sharov, Russia
    62. Guy Igliori, Brazil
    63. Zoltan Skobrics, Hungary
    64. Marek Keckes, Slovakia
    65. Kestutis Gudauskas, Lithuania
    66. Janusz Pietraszek, Poland
    67. Janos Farkas, Hungary
    68. Hamad Al-Majidi, UAE
    69. Thomas Tybl, Austria
    70. Hichem Chemli, Tunisia
    71. Khaled Meziou, Tunisia