Kelly Kulick is the women's 2012 World Singles Champion


    2012 WSC

    Team USA member strikes out in 10th frame to beat Latvian Diana Zavjalova, 228-226



    2012WSCDianaZavjalova.jpg 2012WSCKellyKulick.jpgKelly Kulick (pictured left) of the United States became the first women's World Singles Champion in the history of the World Tenpin Bowling Association when she defeated Diana Zavjalova (right) of Latvia in the title match, 228-226.

    Kulick, who made sports history two years ago by winning 2010 PBA Tournament of Champions to become the first woman to win a PBA Tour event, is the well-deserved winner of the gold medal as she led the 57-player women's division since the first block of qualifying.

    However, the reigning women's U.S. Open champion survived two strong charges in the championship round. In her semifinal match against Esther Cheah (below left) of Malaysia, Kulick was down by six pins heading into the last frame.

    2012EBT04EstherCheah.jpg2012WSCAseretZetter.jpgShe struck out to force Cheah, who won the gold medal in Singles at the 2005 Women's World Championships, got only nine pins on her first bal in the tenth to settle for the bronze medal, 212-207.

    In the other semifinal match Zavjalova ousted Aseret Zetter (right) of Mexico, 237-212, to bowl Kulick for the title.

    The best female bowler in the world started the gold medal match with three strikes to take an early lead. Bother players either struck or left single pins on their first shots through the entire match.

    The Latvian, who studies in the U.S. at Webber International University and is on the team that won the 2012 Intercollegiate Team Championships, started with two spares and three strikes to trail Kulick by one pin in the middle of the game.

    Both players added two spares a strike in frames sixth through eight. When Kulick only spared in the foundation frame, the door was open for Zavjalova. She got a strike in the ninth frame and could shut out Kulick with another strike in the tenth.

    When Zavjalova closed out with spare and strike for 226, Kulick needed a double and a nine-count on the fill ball to win. The woman, who has won all major women's tournaments in the U.S., sealed the victory with another three strikes.

    Zavjalova earned the silver medal while Cheah and Zetter both received bronze.

    Free live streaming was provided of the entire championships. To view the archived videos click here.

    Beginning in 2012, the World Singles Championships will be held every four years. The new event gives WTBA a world championship event every year, filling a void created under the previous calendar.

    The joint Combined World Championships will take place in 2013, the Men's World Championships will take place in 2014 and Women's World Championships in 2015. Each of those events are also held every four years.


    Related Articles

    PBA champions Barnes, Gómez, Jones, Palermaa to bowl for men's title
    Kulick, Cheah, Zavjalova, Zetter advance to Women's Semifinals
    Five PBA champions advance to Men's Quarterfinals
    No. 1 seed Kelly Kulick powers her way into the Quarterfinals
    Latvia's Diana Zavjalova comes back from a 2-0 deficit to win Round of 24 match
    Gross, Torgersen, Zulkifli win in five games in Round of 24
    USA's Kelly Kulick leads top 24 women into finals
    Malaysia's Syafiq Ridhwan earns No. 1 seed for Men's Finals
    Tommy Jones by a whisker, Martin Paulsson falls one pin short
    Russia's Alena Korobkova sets the pace after Squads 1 & 2
    Team USA's Kelly Kulick paces women's division after 6 games
    USA's Tommy Jones holds comfortable lead in men's division
    Russia's Alena Korobkova takes early lead in Women's Qualifying
    Tommy Jones takes commanding lead at World Singles Championships
    Block 1 Qualifying starts on Thursday, Sept. 20
    Players from 44 countries arrive at inaugural World Singles Championships
    Four Team USA members ready to tackle World Singles Championships
    47 countries to participate in inaugural WTBA World Singles Championships
    CBF releases Bulletin for the 2012 WTBA World Singles Championships




    2012 World Singles Championships - Women's Finals

    Galactica Bowling Center in Limassol, Cyprus (Sept. 18-26, 2012)

    Championship Round:
    1. Kelly Kulick, United States
    2. Diana Zavjalova, Latvia
    3. Esther Cheah, Malaysia, and Aseret Zetter, Mexico

    L-R Zavjalova, Kulick, Cheah and Zetter.

    Playoff Results:
    Semifinal Match 1: No. 1 Kulick def. No. 12 Cheah, 212-207
    Semifinal Match 2: No. 14 Zavjalova def. No. 10 Zetter, 237-212
    Championship: Kulick def. Zavjalova, 228-226.


    Women's Division Final Standings (places 5-57)

    5. Shannon O’Keefe, United States.
    6. Clara Juliana Guerrero, Colombia.
    7. Joline Persson-Planefors, Sweden.
    8. Krista Pöllänen, Finland.
    9. Alena Korobkova, Russia.
    10. Rebecka Larsen, Sweden.
    11. Karen Marcano, Venezuela.
    12. Britt Brøndsted, Denmark.
    13. Sue Abela, Malta.
    14. Wendy Kok, Netherlands.
    15. Isabelle Rioux, Canada.
    16. Luminita Farkas, Romania.
    17. Daria Kovalova, Ukraine.
    18. Jacqueline Sijore, Malaysia.
    19. Daphne Tan, Singapore.
    20. Sarit Mizrachi, Israel.
    21. Cherie Tan, Singapore.
    22. Hannah Cullen, Ireland.
    23. Nora Szabo, Hungary.
    24. Myria Kastori, Cyprus.
    25. Piritta Maja, Finland
    26. Pat Torgersen, Norway
    27. Laura Beuthner, Germany
    28. Alicia Marcano, Venezuela
    29. Evgeniya Smirnova, Russia
    30. Jelena Celiseva, Latvia
    31. Maria Jose Rodriguez, Colombia
    32. Tania Yusaf, Scotland
    33. Christina Sanz, Catalonia
    34. Nadine Geissler, Germany
    35. Sophie van der Meer, Netherlands
    36. Fabiana Baraldi, Italy
    37. Ivonne Gross, Austria
    38. Heidi Thorstensen, Norway
    39. Melissa Swift, Malta
    40. Petra Hanzlovska, Czech Republic
    41. Nafsika Deligianni, Greece
    42. Jo Allsebrook, England
    43. Shahaf Antin, Israel
    44. Oleksandra Iakunina, Ukraine
    45. Jana Lebrova, Czech Republic
    46. Aimee Kellegher, Ireland
    47. Niki Schiza, Cyprus
    48. Malgorzata Kiedrowska, Poland
    49. Maria Toth, Hungary
    50. Maria Isidorou, Greece
    51. Alena Lazuta, Belarus
    52. Aksana Sinitsa, Belarus
    53. Teresa Oberkersch, Austria
    54. Lucia Vieira, Brazil
    55. Hala Shaarawi, Egypt
    56. Felinda Gizybowska, Poland
    57. Lea Castro, Brazil