Latvia's Diana Zavjalova comes back from a 2-0 deficit to win her Round of 24 match


    2012 WSC

    Also advancing to the Round of 16 are Isabelle Rioux, Krista Pöllänen, Wendy Kok, Joline Persson-Planefors, Esther Cheah, Luminita Farkas and Aseret Zetter

    2012WSCDianaZavjalova.jpg2012EBT03WendyKok.jpgThe women's single-elimination bracket finals of the World Singles Championships started Monday morning with the Round of 24 in best-of-five games format. The top eight players received first-round byes.

    Diana Zavjalova (pictured left) of Latvia back from a 2-0 deficit to beat Cherie Tan of Singapore, 3-2. Zavjalova, who rolled games of 249, 264 and 216 in the last three games, meets No. 3 Rebecka Larsen of Sweden.

    After being down 2-1 after three games, Dutch Wendy Kok (right) closed out the round with 245-234 and 257-225 wins to defeat Cherie's sister, Daphne Tan of Singapore, 3-2. Kok will bowl No. 1 seed Kelly Kulick, United States in the Round of 16.

    Isabelle Rioux of Canada made quick work of reigning World Champion in Singles, Jacqueline Sijore of Malaysia, three-games-to-none and will meet No. 4 seed, Shannon O'Keeee, United States, in the next round.

    2011BWCKristaPollanen2.jpg2012WECJolinePerssonPlanefors.jpgWorld Games and European Champions Cup winner, Krista Pöllänen (left) of Finland eliminated Sarit Mizrachi of Israel, 3-1. Pöllänen took a 2-0 lead behind games of 259 and 236, but Mizrachi won game three, 226-212, before dropping the next game, 234-192.

    In the second part of the Round of 24, 2011 European Bowling Tour women's point ranking winner and two-time European champion in 2012, Joline Persson-Planefors (right) of Sweden flew past Myria Kastori of host country Cyprus, 3-0, to set up a match against No. 8 seed, Sue Abela of Malta.

    Former World Champion in Singles, Esther Cheah (below left) of Malaysia fired games of 253, 233 and 237 to eliminate Hannah Cullen, 3-0, en route to face No. 5 seed, Karen Marcano of Venezuela.

    2012EBT04EstherCheah.jpg2012WSCAseretZetter.jpgNo. 22 seed Luminita Farkas of Romania topped No. 11 Daria Kovalova of Ukraine, 3-1, and will bowl two-time World Champion Clara Juliana Guerrero of Colombia, seeded sixth. Farkas won the first game by one pin and the second game by two pins. After losing the third game, 213-168, The Romanian sealed the victory with a 6-pin win in game four, 198-192.

    Mexico's Aseret Zetter (right) had some hard work to do before she defeated Nora Szabo of Hungary in the deciding fifth game, 213-201, to advance. Zetter takes on No. 7 Britt Brøndsted of Denmark in the Round of 16, which will be contested on Monday afternoon.

    2012WSCLogo.jpg The 57 women from 33 countries were split into five squads to bowl two blocks of six games over four days on the 41 feet WTBA Montreal oil pattern (Lane Map Guide) before the cut to the top 24 players who advanced to the finals Sept. 24 and 25.

    The top 24 players bowl for the title in single-elimination match-play bracket. The top eight qualifiers receive one bye. In case of a tie in the standings for any position in the qualifying, the higher positioned will be the player with the highest last game (second last game, etc.). All qualifying pin fall is dropped.

    The first three rounds of the finals feature best-of-five games match play until the field is trimmed to the top four. The semifinal matches and the championship match are one-game matches.

    In each match of the final, the highest seeded player decides which player starts to play in the first game. For the first three rounds the starting player will change after each game. In case of a tie in any game, a one ball roll-off will be played and repeated until the tie is broken.

    The field will be trimmed to 16, 8, 4 and then two players who will determine the champion in the gold medal match. The semifinal losers will share the bronze medal.

    Free live streaming will be provided of the entire championships. To view the live streaming click here.


    Related Articles

    Austria's Gross, Norway's Torgersen and Malaysia's Zulkifli win in five games in Round of 24
    USA's Kelly Kulick leads top 24 women into finals at World Singles Championships
    Malaysia's Syafiq Ridhwan earns No. 1 seed for Men's Finals at World Singles Championships
    Russia's Tommy Jones by a whisker, Martin Paulsson falls one pin short of a tie after 12 games
    Russia's Alena Korobkova sets the pace as Squads 1 & 2 have completed the Preliminaries
    Team USA's Kelly Kulick paces women's division after 6/12 qualifying games
    USA's Tommy Jones holds comfortable lead in men's division after first qualifying block
    Russia's Alena Korobkova takes early lead in Women's Qualifying in Limassol, Cyprus
    Team USA's Tommy Jones takes commanding lead at World Singles Championships
    Block 1 Qualifying starts on Thursday, Sept. 20
    Players from 44 countries arrive at inaugural WTBA World Singles Championships
    Four Team USA members ready to tackle World Singles Championships
    47 countries to participate in inaugural WTBA World Singles Championships
    Cyprus Bowling Federation releases Bulletin for the 2012 WTBA World Singles Championships


    Women's Finals - Round of 24

    Best-of-five games bracket format; winners advance, losers eliminated