Dane Mikkel Brus Sørensen shoots 1345 to move into 6th place in Odense International


    2014 European Bowling Tour #8

    Carsten Warming Hansen (DEN) holds on to the lead with 1431; cut for 24th place is 1178 (196.33 average); Wednesday's Squads 8 & 9 have been cancelled

    2014EBT08MikkelBrusSorensen.jpg2014EBT08CarstenWarmingHansen.jpgMikkel Brus Sørensen (pictured left) of Denmark was the lone player in Tuesday's squads 6 & 7 who cracked the 1300-bar en route to move into sixth place in the overall qualifying standings in the Odense International in Denmark.

    After a slow start (188, 203), Sørensen closed out Squad 6 with 223, back-to-back 247 and 237 for 1345 total or an average of 224.17.

    Carsten Warming Hansen (right) of Denmark and Swede Emil Ågren (below left) lead the 48-player field from four countries with 1431 and 1408, respectively. By virtue of finishing 1, 2 in the standings of Squads 4-7, Hansen and Ågren are qualified for Sunday's finals even if they will drop out of the top 24 in the rest of the qualifying.

    2014EBT08EmilAgren.jpg2014EBT08DanOstergaard.jpgThird place belonged to Dan Østergaard-Poulsen (right), Denmark, who posted 1381 on the opening day of the tournament. Denmark's premiere bowling couple, Jesper Agerbo and his wife Rikke Holm Agerbo remained in fourth and fifth place with 1360 and 1357, resp. Rikke is currently the best of nine women in the field.

    Kenneth Andresen (below left), Denmark, led Squad 7 with 1228, an average of 204.67, good for 17th place in the overall standings.

    2014EBT08KennethAndresen.jpgWith 5 of 16 qualifying squads in the books, Daniel Wigman of Denmark holds the 24th and last place to qualify for Sunday's finals with 1178 or an average of 196.33.

    As Wednesday's Squads 8 & 9 have been cancelled, qualifying continues Thursday, May 29, with Squads 10 & 11 scheduled for 4 and 7.30 p.m. CEST.

    The Odense International 2014 is the eighth stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and the third out of nine EBT "Satellite" tournaments this season. The tournament will be held from Sunday, May 25, through Sunday, June 1 at 24-lane Odense Bowling Center in Odense, Denmark.

    Players will compete for total prize money of 20.000 Euro with 4.000 Euro going to the winner, 2.500 to the runner-up and 1.100 apiece to the third and fourth place finishers. Low to cash is 36th place worth 220 Euro.

    2014EBT08OilPattern.jpg Qualifying (six games, unlimited re-entries) got underway on Sunday, May 25, with Squads 1-3 and runs through Saturday, May 31, with the final Squad 16 scheduled for 6 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST). Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 9 p.m.

    The Odense International 2014 features a 41-foot lane conditioning pattern with 24.166ml oil volume. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), a standard on the European Bowling Tour.

    A total of 36 players will qualify for the finals - the top 24 players from the overall qualifying standings plus the top two players each from the combined standings of Squads 1-3, 4-7 and 8-11, who are not among the top 24, one player each from the Turbo 1 and 2 list and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad.

    The Turbo 1 and 2 winners are the players with the highest score in the fifth (Turbo 1) and sixth (Turbo 2) game in any of the qualifying series (extra entry fee required).

    The top 10 qualifiers will receive bonus pins for the first round of the finals as follows: Qualifying winner: 140 pins; second place: 120 pins; third place: 100 pins; fourth place: 80 pins; fifth place: 60 pins; sixth place: 50 pins; 7th place: 40 pins; 8th place: 30 pins; 9th place: 20 pins; and 10th place: 10 pins.

    All 36 finalists will bowl six games. The top 16 with the highest six-game total including bonus pins and women's handicap will advance to the second round with the pinfall being carried forward.

    Those 16 bowl another four games to cut to the top 8 who will be seeded 1-8 for the match play finals featuring one-game rounds. In each round the highest seeded player meets the lowest seeded player, the second-highest takes on the second-lowest and so on.

    The four winners of the Round of 8 plus two "lucky losers" (the two highest scoring players of the four losers) will advance. The three winners of the Round of 6 plus one lucky loser go to the semifinals. The winners of that round will bowl for the title.

    2014EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2014 European Bowling Tour features 20 tournaments in 14 countries. In its 15th season, the EBT consists of two Platinum, six Gold, three Silver and nine Satellite tournaments. The total prize fund exceeds one million Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the eighth EBT Masters July 6, 2015 in Asti, Italy.


    Related Articles

    Carsten Warming Hansen averages 238.50 to overtake qualifying lead in Odense International
    Dan Østergaard-Poulsen paces opening day in Odense International 2014
    2014 European Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2014 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    2014 Odense International - Qualifying Standings after Squad 7/16

    The top 24 players from the overall qualifying standings plus the top two players each from the combined standings of Squads 1-3, 4-7 and 8-11, who are not among the top 24, one player each from the Turbo 1 and 2 list and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad will advance to Sunday's finals.