Pontus Andersson wins qualifying in Odense International to lead top 36 into Sunday's finals


    2015 European Bowling Tour #8

    Swede leads the 98-player field with 1455 (242.50 average); Squad 13 & 14 leader Anders Lousdal (DEN) and Squad 15 leader Timmy Frederiksson (SWE) jump into fifth and sixth place; score to make the cut in 24th place is 1315 (219.17 average)


    2015EBT08JimmyMortensen.jpgSweden's Pontus Andersson (pictured left) remained atop the leaderboard in the qualifying of the Odense International to lead 36 players, 29 men and seven women, into the finals starting Sunday, Mai 31, at 8 a.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST) at Odense Bowling Center in Odense, Denmark.

    Andersson, who won the gold medal in Doubles at the 2014 World Youth Championships in Hong Kong, posted a 1455 series in Squad 5 of 16, an average of 242.50 for six games, including back-to-back 299 games.

    As the qualifying leader Andersson will take a 140-pin bonus into the first round. He will be looking to win his first career European Bowling Tour title.

    2015EBT08ChristofferJakobsson.jpg2015EBT04MaiGingeJensen.jpgSecond place belonged to the best Danish bowler in the field, Jimmy Mortensen (above right), who toppled 1408 pins including a 290 last game. He receives 120 bonus pins.

    Christoffer Jakobsson (left) of Sweden and former World Champion Mai Ginge Jensen (right) of Denmark were the only other players who surpassed the 1400-mark as they tied at 1405. Jakobsson was seeded third (100 bonus pins) due to the new European Bowling Tour tie rule (six-game total minus the lowest game).

    Jensen, who was the best of 18 women in the field and one of seven women who survived the first cut, received 80 bonus pins for finishing qualifying in fourth place.

    2015EBT08AndersLousdal.jpg2015EBT08TimmyFredriksson.jpgAnders Lousdal (left) of Denmark paced qualifying squads 13 and 14 with 1317 and 1398, respectively. He started his high series with 257, 212, 219, 242 and 287 but closed with a low game of 181 which cost him a better position.

    Timmy Frederiksson (right) of Sweden tied Lousdal in the 15th and last squad behind games of 259, 207, 218, 213, 279 and 222. Due to the lowest game (181 to 207), Lousdal was seeded fifth with Frederiksson in six place, worth 60 and 50 bonus pins, respectively.

    2015EBT08JesperAgerbo.jpg2015EBT08SaschaWedel.jpgAlso receiving bonus pins were 7. Christopher LĂźttke, Sweden, 1393 (40); 8. Jesper Agerbo (left), Denmark, 1385 (30); 9. Sascha Wedel (right), Denmark, 1378 (20); and 10. Richard Teece, England, 1377 (10).

    Lars Lindbäck of Sweden hit the cutoff number for 24th place with 1315 and an average of 219.17. The top 24 will be joined in the finals by another 12 players including the top 4 of the one-game Desperado Squad.

    Rikke Nørgaard Johansen of Denmark led way with 262 including eight pins handicap and was followed by Tim Stampe, Denmark (226); Sandra Andersson, Sweden (221) and Markus Bergendorff, Denmark (216).



    The Odense International 2015 is the eighth stop of the 2015 European Bowling Tour and the fourth out of nine EBT "Satellite" tournaments this season. The tournament will be held from May 24-31 at 24-lane Odense Bowling Center in Odense, Denmark.

    Players will compete for total prize money of 20.000 Euro with 4.000 Euro going to the winner, 2.500 to the runner-up and 1.100 apiece to the third and fourth place finishers. Low to cash is 36th place worth 220 Euro.

    Qualifying (six games, unlimited re-entries) got underway on Sunday, May 24, with Squads 1-3 and runs through Saturday, May 31, with the final Squad 15 scheduled for 6 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST). Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 9 p.m.

    The Odense International 2015 features a 40-foot lane conditioning pattern with 26.51ml oil volume. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), an equality handicap provided to women in all EBT events.

    Total 36 players will qualify for the finals - the top 24 players from the overall qualifying standings, the top two players each from a separate leaderboard of Squads 1-3, 4-6 and 7-10, who are not among the top 24, one player each from the Turbo 1 and 2 list and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad.

    The Turbo 1 and 2 winners are the players with the highest score in the fifth (Turbo 1) and sixth (Turbo 2) game in any of the qualifying series (extra entry fee required).

    The top 10 qualifiers will receive bonus pins for the first round of the finals as follows: Qualifying winner: 140 pins; second place: 120 pins; third place: 100 pins; fourth place: 80 pins; fifth place: 60 pins; sixth place: 50 pins; 7th place: 40 pins; 8th place: 30 pins; 9th place: 20 pins; and 10th place: 10 pins.

    All 36 finalists will bowl six games. The top 16 with the highest six-game total including bonus pins and women's handicap will advance to the second round with the total being carried forward.

    Those 16 bowl another four games to cut to the top 8 who will be seeded 1-8 for the match play finals featuring one-game rounds. In each round, the highest seeded player selects his opponent, then the second-highest seeded player, and so on.

    The four winners of the Round of 8 plus two "lucky losers" (the two highest scoring players of the four losers) will advance. The three winners of the Round of 6 plus one lucky loser go to the semifinals. The winners of that round will bowl for the title.

    2015EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2015 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 17 tournaments in 13 countries featuring three "Platinum" events, three "Gold", three "Silver" and eight "Satellite" events. All 17 tournaments together offer total prize fund of 870.000 Euro or 970.000 U.S. Dollar.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the 9th EBT Masters July 25, 2016 at Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino following the San Marino Open.


    Related Articles

    Swede Christoffer Jakobsson moves into third place in Odense International
    Squad 9 and 10 leaders Larsen, Hansen crack top 24 at Odense International
    Pontus Andersson leads Odense International as qualifying reaches halfway mark
    Swede Pontus Andersson holds on to the lead after seven qualifying squads in Odense International
    Liz Johnson defeats Mai Ginge Jensen to win her second EBT title in Odense International
    2015 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2015 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    2015 Odense International - Standings after Qualifying and Desperado Squad

    The top 24 players from the overall qualifying standings, the top two players each from the combined standings of Squads 1-3 (places 25-26) , 4-6 (places 27-28) and 8-10 (places 29-30), who are not among the top 24, one player each from the Turbo 1 and 2 list (places 31-32) and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad (places 33-36) advance to the finals on Sunday, May 31.