Dominic Barrett wins his second EBT title this season in Bowltech Aalborg International


    2010 European Bowling Tour #9

    Kamilla Kjeldsen wins women's rankings

    2010EBT08DominicBarrett.jpgDominic Barrett (pictured), England, defeated tournament leader Petteri Salonen, Finland, in the title match of the Bowltech Aalborg International, 460-445, en route to win his second EBT title of the 2010 season and to overtake the lead in the men's EBT ranking. Barrett, who has won the Masters in the 2009 European Championships at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark, pocketed 10.000 Euro. Salonen had to settle for second place worth 6.000 Euro. Mads Sandbækken, Norway, and Jesper Agerbo, Denmark, received 3.300 Euro apiece for 3rd and 4th place.

    BowltechAalborgOpenLogo_small.jpg The Bowltech Aalborg International 2010 will be held from May 18-24 at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark and offers total prize fund of 62.000 Euro with 10.000 Euro going to the winner. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game. a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour

    The tournament is the 9th stop of the 2010 European Bowling Tour and one of the Tour's "Gold" tournaments. Since the Ankara Open and the Austria Challenge have been cancelled, the 2010 EBT Tour consists of 19 events - 2 EBT Platinum tournament (formerly Premier), 6 EBT Gold tournaments (formerly Major), 7 EBT Silver tournaments (formerly Challenger) and 4 EBT Satellite tournaments (new category).

    2009BWCMartinLarsen3_small.jpg2009WWCKristaPollanen_small.jpg Martin Larsen (left) from Sweden was the defending champion. Larsen topped Tore Torgersen, Norway, 457 to 449 in the 2009 title match over two games total pinfall to claim his fifth EBT title and the 10.000 Euro top prize. Krista Pöllänen (right), Finland, finished in 6th place en route to win the women's ranking.

    Qualifying ran from Monday, May 24th through Saturday, May 29th and concluded with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 11.30 p.m. on Saturday night.

    A total of 48 players qualified for the finals on Sunday, May 30th - the top 38 players from the overall qualifying standings plus the top three players each from a combined standing of Squads 1-3 and 4-6 which are not among the top 38, and the top 4 from the Desperado Squad.

    The top 12 qualifiers earned two byes while players seeded 13-24 bypassed the first round of the finals.

    Rounds 1-4 featured 4-game blocks starting from scratch which trimmed the field to 36, 24, 12 and then four who advanced to the semifinals. The No. 1 player of Round 4 bowled the No. 4 and No. 2 met No. 3 to determine the finalists who bowled for the title. The semifinals and the championship match were matches with the total pinfall determining the winner.

    Immediately following the Bowltech Aalborg International 2010 is the 3rd EBT Masters, the season-ending event of the 2009 European Bowling Tour, which will be held May 31st and June 1st at Lovvang Bowling Center.


    Bowltech Aalborg International 2010

    Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark (May 24-30, 2010)

    Championship Round:
    1. Dominic Barrett, England, 900 (4 games), 10.000 Euro
    2. Petteri Salonen, Finland, 849 (4 games), 6.000 Euro
    3. Mads Sandbækken, Norway, 413 (2 games), 3.300 Euro
    4. Jesper Agerbo, Denmark, 404 (2 games), 3.300 Euro

    Playoff Results:
    Semifinal Match 1: #1 Salonen (212, 192) def. #4 Agerbo (190, 214), 7-6 in roll-off after a 404-404 tie.
    Semifinal Match 2: #3 Barrett (223, 217) def. #2 Sandbækken (188, 225), 440-413
    Championship: Barrett (201, 259) def. Salonen (204, 241), 460-445.


    Final Standings - Places 5-48 (cashers)

    5. Kamilla Kjeldsen, Denmark, 1.500 Euro
    6. Frederick √ėhrgaard, Denmark, 1.500 Euro
    7. Martin Paulsson, Sweden, 1.500 Euro
    8. Björn Einar Rudshagen, Norway, 1.500 Euro
    9. Kim Bolleby, Sweden, 1.500 Euro
    10. Pasi Uotila, Finland, 1.500 Euro
    11. Hélen Johnsson, Sweden, 1.500 Euro
    12. Johnni Adsböl, Denmark, 1.500 Euro
    13. Paul Moor, England, 900 Euro
    14. Krista Pöllänen, Finland, 900 Euro
    15. Mathias √Örup, Sweden, 900 Euro
    16. Ghislaine van der Tol, Netherlands, 900 Euro
    17. Thomas Larsen, Denmark, 900 Euro
    18. Mika Koivuniemi, Finland, 900 Euro
    19. Anders Lousdal, Denmark, 900 Euro
    20. Martin Larsen, Sweden, 900 Euro
    21. Paul Hutchinson, Denmark, 900 Euro
    22. Juhani Tonteri, Finland, 900 Euro
    23. Carsten W. Hansen, Denmark, 900 Euro
    24. Tore Torgersen, Norway, 900 Euro
    25. Mikael Brändeskov, Denmark, 700 Euro
    26. Priscilla Maaswinkel, Netherlands, 700 Euro
    27. Joonas Jähi, Finland, 700 Euro
    28. Britt Br√łndsted, Denmark, 700 Euro
    29. Osku Palermaa, Finland, 700 Euro
    30. Robert Andersson, Sweden, 700 Euro
    31. Rikke Holm Rasmussen, Denmark, 700 Euro
    32. Mik Stampe, Denmark, 700 Euro
    33. Karl Wahlgren, Sweden, 700 Euro
    34. Mattias Wetterberg, Sweden, 700 Euro
    35. Mikael Kanold, Sweden, 700 Euro
    36. Bo Winther, Denmark, 700 Euro
    37. Kirsten Penny, England, 600 Euro
    38. Stefan Jensen, Denmark, 600 Euro
    39. Mai Ginge Jensen, Denmark, 600 Euro
    40. Christer Aker, Norway, 600 Euro
    41. Rebecka Larsen Jr. Sweden, 600 Euro
    42. Roosa Lundén, Finland, 600 Euro
    43. Svein Roger Olsen, Norway, 600 Euro
    44. René Sejling, Denmark, 600 Euro
    45. Hafthor Hardarson, Iceland, 600 Euro
    46. John Guldbäk, Denmark, 600 Euro
    47. Morten Olsen, Denmark, 600 Euro
    48. Martin Klitte, Denmark, 600 Euro


    2010 European Bowling Tour Rankings by Bowlingdigital

    2010 EBT Men's Ranking
    2010 EBT Women's Ranking


    Related Articles

    Petteri Salonen finishes qualifying atop the leaderboard in Bowltech Aalborg International
    Petteri Salonen shoots 1480 to lead the field into final qualifying day in Aalborg
    Danes still in control of the leaderboard in Bowltech Aalborg International
    Jesper Agerbo overtakes second place in qualifying at Bowltech Aalborg International
    Three players move into top 10 in qualifying at Bowltech Aalborg International
    Kamilla Kjeldsen takes the early lead in Bowltech Aalborg International


    Final Round 4

    Top 12 from Round 3, four games from scratch. The top 4 players advance to the semifinals. Places 5-12 eliminated, earn 1.500 Euro.



    Final Round 3

    Top 12 qualifiers and top 12 from Round 2, four games from scratch. The top 12 players advance to the next round. Places 13-24 eliminated, earn 900 Euro.



    Final Round 2

    Players seeded 13th to 24th after qualifying and top 12 from Round 1, four games from scratch. The top 12 players advance to the next round. Places 13-24 eliminated, earn 700 Euro.



    Final Round 1

    Players seeded 25th to 48th after qualifying, four games from scratch. The top 12 players advance to the next round. Places 13-24 eliminated, earn 600 Euro.