Robert Andersson leads top 48 into the finals at 1st Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open


    2010 European Bowling Tour #10

    Ghislaine van der Tol ends qualifying with a perfect game

    2010EBT10RobertAndersson2.jpg2010EBT10GhislainevanderTol.jpgRobert Andersson (pictured left; from Sweden finished the qualifying the in 1st Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open at Dream Bowl Palace in Unterföhring, Germany, atop the 212-player leaderboard to lead the top 48 players including all 14 squad leaders and the top 4 from the Desperado Squad into the finals.

    The Swedish national team member and past world champion had a 1471 six-game series, an average of 1471 including 265, 264 and 266 in the final three games.

    Dutch international Ghislaine van der Tol (right) closed out qualifying with the tournament's first perfect game to lead final qualifying Squad 14 en route to jump into second place in the overall standings with 1451 including 48 pins handicap.

    2010EBT10ThomasLarsen.jpg2010EBT10ClemensUlsamer.jpgThe lefty is one of just two women, who survived the first cut. The other was Sabrina Laub, Germany, who finished qualifying in 41st place with 1307 pinfall total.

    Thomas Larsen (pictured left), Denmark, who led Squad 11 on Saturday morning, landed in third place with a 1449 series. Clemens Ulsamer (right), Germany, was the best non-squad leader in fourth place with 1443 including a 277 high game.

    Rounding out the top 8, who received two byes for the finals, were squad leaders Mads Sandbækken, Norway (1393), Stuart Williams, England (1389), Perttu Jussila, Finland (1388) and Bodo Konieczny, Germany (1385).

    Sascha Hauchwitz, Germany, led Squad 121 with 1356 but did not improve his high series of 1373 to land in 9th place. Players from 9th to 16th place will bypass te first round of the finals.

    2010EBT10OskuPalermaa.jpg2010EBT10DominicBarrett.jpg3-time European Bowling Tour ranking champion Osku Palermaa (right), Finland, currently the No. 3 ranked bowler in Europe, led Squad 13 with 1341 pinfall total to finish qualifying in 23rd place. Current ranking leader Dominic Barrett (left), England, was one pin and one place better.

    PBA star Mika Koivuniemi, Finland, sandwiched between Barrett and Palermaa in the rankings, made the cut in 18th place with 1348 and is joined by fellow PBAers Chris Loschetter (10th, 1373) and Brian Voss, both United States (24th, 1340).

    Mik Stampe, Denmark, hit the cutoff number for 44th place with 1299 or an average of 216.50. The top 44 will be joined in the finals by the top 4 from the one-game Desperado Squad, Björn Einar Rudshagen, Norway (289), Rakan Al-Amiri (below right), Kuwait (269), Anders Lousdal, Denmark (255) and Andrew Frawley, Australia (248).

    DBPOpenLogo_small.jpg 2010EBT10RakanAlAmiri.jpgThe 1st Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open is a newcomer on the European Bowling Tour and will be staged from June 27 thru July 4 at Dream Bowl Palace in Unterföhring, Germany. The state-of-the-art 52-laner, the biggest bowling center in Europe, will host the Men's World Championship in August.

    The DPB Open offers total prize fund of 50.000 Euro with 10.000 Euro going to the winner. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour.

    Photos Beat Grauwiler.

    The tournament is the 10th stop of the 2010 European Bowling Tour and one of the Tour's "Silver" tournaments. Since the Ankara Open and the Austria Challenge have been cancelled, the 2010 EBT Tour consists of 19 events - 2 EBT Platinum tournament (formerly Premier), 6 EBT Gold tournaments (formerly Major), 7 EBT Silver tournaments (formerly Challenger) and 4 EBT Satellite tournaments (new category).

    A total of 48 players will qualify for the finals on Sunday, July 4th - between 30 and 44 players from the overall qualifying standings, the qualifying squad leaders (max 14) not among the top 30 plus the top 4 from the Desperado Squad.

    The top 8 qualifiers will earn two byes while players seeded 9-16 will bypass the first round of the finals.

    Rounds 1-3 will feature 4-game blocks starting from scratch which will trim the field to 32, 20 and then 8 players who will advance to the quarterfinals. The format will switch to match play with the two-game total determining the winner. In each round the highest seeded player after Round 3 will meet the lowest seeded player, the second highest meets the second lowest, and so on.

    The winners of Round 4 advance to the semifinals to determine the finalists who will bowl for the title and the 10.000 Euro top prize.


    Related Articles

    Robert Andersson cracks 1400-bar to take the lead in 1st Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open
    Stuart Williams, Perttu Jussila overtake qualifying lead in 1st Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open
    Germans in control of the leaderboard at 1st Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open


    Standings after Qualifying and Desperado Squad

    The top 44 including the 14 squad leaders (boldface) plus the top 4 from the Desperado Squad (places 45-48 advance to the finals.