Home » Navigation » Europe » European Bowling Tour » Dutch bowlers continue to dominate Chandra Open

Dutch bowlers continue to dominate Chandra Open


2016EBT12TomvanderVlietDutch bowlers continued to dominate the qualifying of the Chandra Open after the fourth of nine squads Thursday at Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands holding the top 9 spots in the standings.

Jeffrey van de Wakker (pictured above) averaged 238.83 to lead the 22-player squad with 1433 and to leap in fourth place on the leaderboard. Van de Wakker started his six-game series with 217, 229, 215 and 225 before he closed with 258 and 289, the highest game of the day.

Tom van der Vliet (right), who won the 2014 European Champions Cup, leads the field of 64 players, 56 men and eight women, from Belgium, England, Germany, Netherlands and the United States since the first squad with 1502 and an average of 250.33.

2016EBT12NicoleSanders2016EBT12LisanneBreeschotenDutch women’s national team members Nicole Sanders (left) and Lisanne Breeschoten (right) remained in second and third place with 1486 and 1450, respectively, both scores including 8 pins handicap per game.

Jord van Weeren was second in squad 4 with 1427 total, including high games of 269 and 259, to move into seventh place, with Kevin van Rooijen close behind on 1413, good for eighth place overall. The top 8 players at the end of the qualifying will receive a first-round bye.

2016EBT07RichardTeeceMaxime de Rooij was the best foreign bowler in 10th place with 1408, including handicap. Three-time European Bowling Tour champion Richard Teece (left) of England, the lone multiple champion this season after winning the titles in the Odense International and the Polish Open averaged 231.33 Thursday to move into 13th place with 1388.

Marco Landman, Netherlands, currently holds the 30th and last spot to advance to the finals with 1326 and an average of 221.

Qualifying commences on Friday, September 16, with squads 5 & 6 scheduled to start at 4 and 8 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

2016ChandraOpenLogoSliderThe Chandra Open 2016 is the 12th stop of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the fourth out of six EBT “Satellite” tournaments this season. The tournament runs from Sept. 11-18 at 16-lane Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands.

This year’s edition offers total prize fund of 21.100 Euro with 3.250 Euro going to the winner and 2.250 Euro to the runner-up, while the third and fourth place finishers will receive 1.500 Euro and 1.000, respectively. Final cash spot is 40th place worth 250 Euro.

Qualifying (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Sunday, Sept. 11, through Saturday, Sept. 17, with the final Squad 9 scheduled for 6 p.m. and concludes with the Desperado Squad slated for 9.30 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum is 300) throughout the entire tournament, an equality handicap provided to women in all European Bowling Tour events.

Total 40 players will advance to the finals on Sunday, Sept. 18, including the top 30 from the overall qualifying standings, the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of squads 1, 2 and 3 (Sept. 11-13), and the top 4 of the one-game Desperado Squad. The top 8 qualifiers will receive a first-round bye.

The other 32 players bowl four games from scratch with the top 16 advancing to the second round. Those 16 and the top eight qualifiers bowl another four-game round from scratch to cut to the top 12 who advance to the final round.

All finalists carry over their four-game total to bowl a final six-game round. The player with the highest 10-game total including handicap will be declared champion.

2016EBTLogo2The 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three “Platinum” events, three “Gold”, four “Silver” and six “Satellite” events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters May 29, 2017, at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark.

Related Articles

Nicole Sanders leads Squad 3 at Chandra Open; Johnny Spil perfect
Lisanne Breeschoten moves into second place at Chandra Open
Tom van der Vliet kicks off Chandra Open with 1500 series
Chandra Open 2016 – Tournament Preview
Denmark’s Mik Stampe wins his third EBT title in Chandra Open 2015
2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital – Men and Women
2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown

Chandra Open 2015 – Standings after Qualifying Squad 4/9

Top 30 qualifiers plus the top 6 of a separate leader board of Squads 1-3 (places 31-36) and the top 4 of the Desperado Squad (places 37-40) will advance to Sunday’s finals. Top 8 qualifiers will receive a first-round bye.

300 games (3) – Youri Fens, Mark Jacobs, Johnny Spil.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.