Denmark's Mai Ginge Jensen rises to the top in Odense International


    2014 European Bowling Tour #8

    Leaderboard gets new look as 12 players move into the top 15 in Friday's Squads 12 & 13; Martin Klitte (DEN) rolls the first 300 game of the tournament; score to make the cut in 24th place raises by 90 pins to 1321 (220.17 average)

    2014EBT08CarstenWarmingHansen.jpg2014EBT08MaiGingeJensen.jpgLong-time Danish national team member Mai Ginge Jensen toppled 1394 in Friday's Squad 12 and added 48 pins women's handicap to rise to the top in the Odense International heading into the last qualifying day at Odense Bowling Center in Odense, Denmark.

    Jensen (pictured left), who won the gold medal in All Events at the 20111 Women's World Championships in Hong Kong, had games of 267, 212, 259, 197, 212 and 247, an average of 232.33, to overtake previous leader Carsten Warming Hansen (right), Denmark, by 11 pins.

    2014EBT01MatthiasWetterberg.jpg2013BWCBodoKonieczny.jpgThe leaderboard got a whole new look on Friday as 12 players moved into the top 15. Jensen is the best of 20 women in the 97-player field from nine countries. Mattias Wetterberg (left) of Sweden was just nine pins behind Jensen with 1433 including a 290 game to leap into second place with the field-best 238.83.

    Hansen, who posted a 1431 series in Squad 4, slipped to third place. German international Bodo Konieczny (right) used a pair of 270s for 1418 to jump into fourth place. Emil Ã…gren fell three spots to fifth place with 1408.

    2014EBT08KamillaKjeldsen.jpg2014EBT03LisanneBreeschooten.jpgKamilla Kjeldsen, Denmark, was the sixth player, who surpassed the 1400-mark as the current European Bowling Tour women's point ranking leader paced Squad 13 with 1402 including handicap. Kjeldsen, who has won the women's ranking in four tournaments this season including a victory in the 8th International Wroclaw Open by Hammer in February, had games of 214, 289, 268, 192, 199 and 192.

    Anton Ahlgren of Sweden was six pins behind Kjeldsen with 1396, good for seventh place overall. Dutch Lisanne Breeschoten (right) is the third woman in the top 10 1393 total pins.

    2012EBT09JohnnyAdsbol.jpgShe is followed by Swedes Kim Andersson and Johan Hansson, who sit in ninth and 10th place with 1391 and 1387, respectively.

    The score to make the cut in 24th place raised by 90 pins on Friday. Dane Johnni Adsbøl (left) is the "man on the bubble" with 1321 or an average of 220.17.

    Martin Klitte of Denmark rolled the tournament's first 300 in the second game of Squad 13, but averaged 200.80 for the other five games to finish the day below the cut line in 31st place with 1304.

    Qualifying continues Saturday, May 31, with Squads 14, 15 & 16 scheduled for 10 a.m., 2 and 6 p.m. CEST and concludes with the Desperado Squad slated for 9 p.m.

    The Odense International 2014 is the eighth stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and the third out of nine EBT "Satellite" tournaments this season. The tournament will be held from Sunday, May 25, through Sunday, June 1 at 24-lane Odense Bowling Center in Odense, Denmark.

    Players will compete for total prize money of 20.000 Euro with 4.000 Euro going to the winner, 2.500 to the runner-up and 1.100 apiece to the third and fourth place finishers. Low to cash is 36th place worth 220 Euro.

    2014EBT08OilPattern.jpg Qualifying (six games, unlimited re-entries) got underway on Sunday, May 25, with Squads 1-3 and runs through Saturday, May 31, with the final Squad 16 scheduled for 6 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST). Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 9 p.m.

    The Odense International 2014 features a 41-foot lane conditioning pattern with 24.166ml oil volume. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum score is 300), a standard on the European Bowling Tour.

    A total of 36 players will qualify for the finals - the top 24 players from the overall qualifying standings plus the top two players each from the combined standings of Squads 1-3, 4-7 and 8-11, who are not among the top 24, one player each from the Turbo 1 and 2 list and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad.

    The Turbo 1 and 2 winners are the players with the highest score in the fifth (Turbo 1) and sixth (Turbo 2) game in any of the qualifying series (extra entry fee required).

    The top 10 qualifiers will receive bonus pins for the first round of the finals as follows: Qualifying winner: 140 pins; second place: 120 pins; third place: 100 pins; fourth place: 80 pins; fifth place: 60 pins; sixth place: 50 pins; 7th place: 40 pins; 8th place: 30 pins; 9th place: 20 pins; and 10th place: 10 pins.

    All 36 finalists will bowl six games. The top 16 with the highest six-game total including bonus pins and women's handicap will advance to the second round with the pinfall being carried forward.

    Those 16 bowl another four games to cut to the top 8 who will be seeded 1-8 for the match play finals featuring one-game rounds. In each round the highest seeded player meets the lowest seeded player, the second-highest takes on the second-lowest and so on.

    The four winners of the Round of 8 plus two "lucky losers" (the two highest scoring players of the four losers) will advance. The three winners of the Round of 6 plus one lucky loser go to the semifinals. The winners of that round will bowl for the title.

    2014EBTLogo_small.jpg The 2014 European Bowling Tour features 20 tournaments in 14 countries. In its 15th season, the EBT consists of two Platinum, six Gold, three Silver and nine Satellite tournaments. The total prize fund exceeds one million Euro.

    The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will compete in the eighth EBT Masters July 6, 2015 in Asti, Italy.


    Related Articles

    Jeroen Van Geel, Frode Jørgen Aaneby crack top 10 in Thursday's Squads 10 & 11
    Mikkel Brus Sørensen shoots 1345 to move into 6th place in Odense International
    Carsten Warming Hansen averages 238.50 to overtake qualifying lead in Odense International
    Dan Østergaard-Poulsen paces opening day in Odense International 2014
    2014 European Bowling Tour - Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown
    2014 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital - Men and Women


    2014 Odense International - Qualifying Standings after Squad 13/16

    The top 24 players from the overall qualifying standings plus the top two players each from the combined standings of Squads 1-3, 4-7 and 8-11, who are not among the top 24, one player each from the Turbo 1 and 2 list and the top 4 players of the Desperado Squad will advance to Sunday's finals.