Home » Navigation » Europe » European Bowling Tour » Paul Moor targets his 18th European Bowling Tour title

Paul Moor targets his 18th European Bowling Tour title


Paul Moor of England led the sixth qualifying squad Friday evening at Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands, with 1492 six-game total but fell 10 pins short off the lead to jump into second place in the European Bowling Tour’s Chandra Open.

Moor (pictured above), the all-time EBT title leader, won his 17th career title in the 28th Irish Open Championships in January, had five games between 237 and 279 and a low game of 215, an average of 248.67 for six games.

2016EBT12TomvanderVliet2016EBT12NicoleSanders2014 European Champions Cup winner Tom van der Vliet (left) of the Netherlands, who is still looking to win his first EBT title, leads the field of 100 players from nine countries since the very first squad last Sunday with 1502 and an average of 250.33.

Dutch women’s national team members Nicole Sanders (right) and Lisanne Breeschoten (below left) are the best of 23 women in the field in second and third place with 1486 and 1450, including 8 pins handicap per game, respectively.

2016EBT12LisanneBreeschoten2016EBT10ThomasLarsen3Four-time EBT champion Thomas Larsen (right) of Denmark set the pace in squad 5 with 1435 and an average of 239.17 to leap into fifth place in the overall qualifying standings. His compatriot and fellow world champion in trios (2014, Abu Dhabi, UAE), Carsten Warming Hansen tied Larsen at 1435 in squad 6 and ranks sixth due to Larsen’s higher five-game total.

Jeffrey van de Wakker, Netherlands, slipped to seventh place with 1433, while three-time EBT titlist, Ghislaine Stigter-van der Tol, rounds out the top 8 with 1431, including handicap. The top 8 players at the end of the qualifying will receive a first-round bye.

Heading into the last day of qualifying, Ronan van der Loo, Netherlands, is the man “on the bubble” in 30th place with 1365 or an average of 227.50.

Qualifying commences on Saturday, September 17, with squads 7-9 scheduled to start at 10 a.m., 2 and 6 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST) and concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad slated for 9.30 p.m.

2016ChandraOpenLogoSliderThe Chandra Open 2016 is the 12th stop of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the fourth out of six EBT “Satellite” tournaments this season. The tournament runs from Sept. 11-18 at 16-lane Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands.

This year’s edition offers total prize fund of 21.100 Euro with 3.250 Euro going to the winner and 2.250 Euro to the runner-up, while the third and fourth place finishers will receive 1.500 Euro and 1.000, respectively. Final cash spot is 40th place worth 250 Euro.

Qualifying (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Sunday, Sept. 11, through Saturday, Sept. 17, with the final Squad 9 scheduled for 6 p.m. and concludes with the Desperado Squad slated for 9.30 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum is 300) throughout the entire tournament, an equality handicap provided to women in all European Bowling Tour events.

Total 40 players will advance to the finals on Sunday, Sept. 18, including the top 30 from the overall qualifying standings, the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of squads 1, 2 and 3 (Sept. 11-13), and the top 4 of the one-game Desperado Squad. The top 8 qualifiers will receive a first-round bye.

The other 32 players bowl four games from scratch with the top 16 advancing to the second round. Those 16 and the top eight qualifiers bowl another four-game round from scratch to cut to the top 12 who advance to the final round.

All finalists carry over their four-game total to bowl a final six-game round. The player with the highest 10-game total including handicap will be declared champion.

2016EBTLogo2The 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three “Platinum” events, three “Gold”, four “Silver” and six “Satellite” events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters May 29, 2017, at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark.

Related Articles

Dutch bowlers continue to dominate Chandra Open
Nicole Sanders leads Squad 3 at Chandra Open; Johnny Spil perfect
Lisanne Breeschoten moves into second place at Chandra Open
Tom van der Vliet kicks off Chandra Open with 1500 series
Chandra Open 2016 – Tournament Preview
Denmark’s Mik Stampe wins his third EBT title in Chandra Open 2015
2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital – Men and Women
2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown

Chandra Open 2015 – Standings after Qualifying Squad 6/9

Top 30 qualifiers plus the top 6 of a separate leader board of Squads 1-3 (places 31-36) and the top 4 of the Desperado Squad (places 37-40) will advance to Sunday’s finals. Top 8 qualifiers will receive a first-round bye.

300 games (3) – Youri Fens, Mark Jacobs, Johnny Spil.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.