Canada names team for 2011 Pan American Games



    Selections made for 2011 Team Canada

    CTFLogo2_small.jpgThe Canadian Tenpin Federation (CTF) has named its team for the XVI Pan American Games. The bowling competition will take place October 24th through 27th, 2011 at Tapatio Bowling Alley in Guadalajara, Mexico.

    Caroline Lagrange, Montreal, Quebec and Jennifer Willis-Park, Nanaimo, British Columbia will compete in the women's events, while Mark Buffa, Montreal QC and Michael Schmidt, Winnipeg, Manitoba will play in the men's event.

    2010EBT05CarolineLagrange_small.jpg2010JenniferPark_small.jpgLagrange (left) has been a member of the Team Canada Youth or Adult teams since 2003. She became National Champion in 2004 and 2009 and earned Bowler of the Year honors. She won two silver medals in Team and All Events at the World Youth Championships in 2006. In 2009, Lagrange won the QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup in Melaka, Malaysia.

    Park (right) is also a multi-year Team Canada member. She was National Champion in 2000 and 2005 and bowled for Canada at the American Zone Championships in 1998, 2001, 2005 and 2008 earning a silver and two bronze medals. In the 1999 Pan American Games she won the bronze medal in women's Singles.

    2010EBT05MarkBuffa_small.jpg2010BWCMichaelSchmidt_small.jpgBuffa (left) has won bronze medals at the 2008 Pan American Championship of Champions in Singles and Masters and bowled for Canada at the 2009 Pan American Championships. Buffa was also a Team Canada member at the 2010 Men's World Championships.

    Schmidt (right) was the only Canadian to make the Masters event at the 2010 Men's World Championships. He is one of only two multi winners of the Bowling World Cup, winning titles in 2005 and 2010.

    Other team Canada members are Felicia Wong, Calgary, Alberta, Kristy James, Dorval, QC, Dianne Buchanan, Brossard, QC and Robin Orlikowski, Grand Rapids, Michigan for the women. and Art Oliver Jr., Hamilton, Ontario, Joe Ciach, Mississauga, ON, Jack Guay, AB, and David Simard, Granby, QC for the men.

    The seventh and eighth members of the 2011 Team Canada were selected by CTF. Previously, the selection committee selected the seventh and eighth members from those who finished in the top 18 (men) and top 12 (women) at the Canadian National Championships. In a new selection process, athletes made application to CTF for selection.

    2010PWCIsabelleRioux_small.jpgLynne Gauthier.jpgIsabelle Rioux (left), Trios Rivieres, Quebec and Lynne Gauthier (right), Winnipeg, Manitoba have been selected for the women's team. George Lambert IV, formerly Hamilton, Ontario and Dan MacLelland, formerly Windsor, ON are the selections for the men.

    Both Lambert IV and MacLelland are now living in the United States - Lambert IV in Justin, Texas and MacLelland in Saginaw, Michigan.

    Rioux and Gauthier are multi-year members of Team Canada. Rioux won one gold and two bronze medals at the 2010 Pan American Women's Championships. Gauthier represented Canada at the 2010 Tournament of the Americas and earned two bronze medals.

    200910PBAGeorgeLambert2_small.jpg201011PBADanMacLelland_small.jpgLambert IV (left) has been a member of the Youth or Adult Team Canada since 2000. He has earned numerous medals for Canada and was the 2000 and 2009 Male Bowler of the Year. Lambert IV is presently a member of the Professional Bowlers Association competing on the PBA tour.

    MacLelland (right) was a member of Youth Team Canada in 2004 and 2006. He earned two gold and six silver medals for Canada. MacLelland is also a member of the PBA and competing on the tour.

    International competition for 2011 includes: Men's Pan American Bowling Confederation (PABCON) Championships, Women's World Champions and the Pan American Games.