Home » Navigation » Europe » European Bowling Tour » Tom van der Vliet wins qualifying at Chandra Open 2016

Tom van der Vliet wins qualifying at Chandra Open 2016


Tom van der Vliet of the Netherlands averaged 250.33 in the first squad of the Chandra Open last Sunday and remained atop the 113-player leaderboard for the rest of the week to win the qualifying with 1502 pinfall total.

The 2014 European Champions Cup winner (pictured above), who is still looking to win his first EBT title, leads a field of 40 players, the top 30 qualifiers plus the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of squads 1, 2 and 3 and the top 4 of the Desperado Squad, into Sunday’s finals.

World and European champion, Kimmo Lehtonen of Finland rolled games of 237, 283, 279, 235, 242 and 226 in the penultimate squad Saturday afternoon at Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands, to tie Van der Vliet at 1502.

Lehtonen, a three-time European Bowling Tour champion, including two wins at the famous Ballmaster Open, was seeded second due to lower five-game high, which breaks the tie.

2016EBT12PaulMoor2016EBT12RayTeeceLehtonen pushed back Paul Moor (left; 1492) of England, the all-time EBT title leader with 17 wins, and Dutch women’s national team member Nicole Sanders (1486) to third and fourth place.

Ray Teece (right) of England, who won his first EBT title in the IV Brunswick Madrid Challenge in July, posted 1450 in squad 7, including high games of 280, 279 and 257 to jump into fifth place in the overall standings.

2016EBT12LisanneBreeschotenLisanne Breeschoten (left), Netherlands, fell to sixth place, also with 1450, and was the second woman out of 28, who finished in the top 8.

Yorick van Deutekom, Netherlands, led the last qualifying squad 9 on Saturday evening to tie Markus Bergendorff, a two-handed player from Denmark, at 1447. Both series included a 300 game which brought the number of perfect games this week to five.

Deutekom finished qualifying in seventh place, while Bergendorff took the eighth and last spot to earn a first-round bye.

Three-time women’s EBT point ranking leader,Britt Brøndsted of Denmark hit the cutoff number for 30th place with 1394, including eight pins handicap each game.

2016ChandraOpenLogoSliderThe Chandra Open 2016 is the 12th stop of the 2016 European Bowling Tour and the fourth out of six EBT “Satellite” tournaments this season. The tournament runs from Sept. 11-18 at 16-lane Chandra Bowling in Nieuwegein, Netherlands.

This year’s edition offers total prize fund of 21.100 Euro with 3.250 Euro going to the winner and 2.250 Euro to the runner-up, while the third and fourth place finishers will receive 1.500 Euro and 1.000, respectively. Final cash spot is 40th place worth 250 Euro.

Qualifying (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Sunday, Sept. 11, through Saturday, Sept. 17, with the final Squad 9 scheduled for 6 p.m. and concludes with the Desperado Squad slated for 9.30 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

Women receive 8 pins handicap each game (maximum is 300) throughout the entire tournament, an equality handicap provided to women in all European Bowling Tour events.

Total 40 players will advance to the finals on Sunday, Sept. 18, including the top 30 from the overall qualifying standings, the top 6 from a separate leaderboard of squads 1, 2 and 3 (Sept. 11-13), and the top 4 of the one-game Desperado Squad. The top 8 qualifiers will receive a first-round bye.

The other 32 players bowl four games from scratch with the top 16 advancing to the second round. Those 16 and the top eight qualifiers bowl another four-game round from scratch to cut to the top 12 who advance to the final round.

All finalists carry over their four-game total to bowl a final six-game round. The player with the highest 10-game total including handicap will be declared champion.

2016EBTLogo2The 2016 European Bowling Tour currently consists of 16 tournaments in 11 countries featuring three “Platinum” events, three “Gold”, four “Silver” and six “Satellite” events. All tournaments together offer total prize fund of roughly 850.000 Euro.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event receive ranking points. Those points will be tabulated throughout the season to determine the top 12 men and top 12 women, who will be eligible to compete in the 10th EBT Masters May 29, 2017, at Lovvang Bowling Center in Aalborg, Denmark.

Related Articles

Paul Moor targets his 18th European Bowling Tour title
Dutch bowlers continue to dominate Chandra Open
Nicole Sanders leads Squad 3 at Chandra Open; Johnny Spil perfect
Lisanne Breeschoten moves into second place at Chandra Open
Tom van der Vliet kicks off Chandra Open with 1500 series
Chandra Open 2016 – Tournament Preview
Denmark’s Mik Stampe wins his third EBT title in Chandra Open 2015
2016 EBT Point Rankings by Bowlingdigital – Men and Women
2016 European Bowling Tour Schedule, Champions and Money-breakdown

Chandra Open 2015 – Standings after Qualifying and Desperado Squad

Top 30 qualifiers plus the top 6 of a separate leader board of Squads 1-3 (places 31-36) and the top 4 of the Desperado Squad (places 37-40) advance to Sunday’s finals. Top 8 qualifiers receive a first-round bye.

300 games (5) – Youri Fens, Mark Jacobs, Johnny Spil, Markus Bergendorff, Yorick van Deutekom.

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.