Bowling competition at the XVII Pan American Games "Toronto 2015" starts Wednesday


    2015 Pan American Games

    6,100 athletes from 41 countries and territories from the Americas are competing in 36 sports



    2015PanAmGamesLogo.jpg The XVII Pan American Games "Toronto 2015" run from July 10-26 in Toronto, Canada, with preliminary rounds in certain events having begun on July 7, 2015. This year, 6,100 athletes from 41 countries and territories from the Americas are competing in 36 sports in the 15 host communities of the Greater Golden Horseshoe region.

    Pictured above: Team Canada - (L-R) Dr. Peter Usher, Robin Orlikowski, Francois Lavoie, Isabelle Rioux, Dan MacLelland and coach Tyrel Rose.

    Bowling competition takes place at Planet Bowl in Etobicoke, Toronto, Canada, from July 22-26. Maximum two men and two women will represent each country at the event.

    PABCONLogo.jpg15 member federations of the Pan American Bowling Confederation (PABCON) - Argentina, Aruba, Brazil, Canada, Chile (women only), Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama (men only), Puerto Rico, United States and Venezuela - compete for medals in Singles and Doubles.

    Bowling competition gets underway on Wednesday and Thursday, July 22 & 23, with the men's and women's Doubles. The medalists will be decided in two six game blocks with the 12-game total determining the winner.

    Competition commences with the Singles qualifying on Friday, July 24. All players roll two six-game blocks to cut to the top 8 men and the top 8 women for Saturday's round robin match play.

    Players will get 20 bonus pins for each victory in match play and 10 for a tie. Following the conclusion of the eight-game round (seven games round robin plus one game position round), the top four men and top four women will advance to the one-game semifinal round (1 vs. 4 and 2 vs. 3). The winners will bowl for gold and silver.

    PanAmericanGamesLogo.jpg Held every four years, the Pan American Games are an Americas version of the Olympic Games which includes the Olympic program sports and others that are not part of the Olympics. The Pan American Games are the second-largest multi-sport event after the Olympic Games.

    As earlier reported, Tenpin Bowling has been placed on the shortlist of additional events for inclusion on the Sports Program at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

    The Tokyo OC, which can propose the addition of one or more sports to the program of their own accord, will make its recommendations to the International Olympic Committee by Sept. 30. The final decision will be made at the 129th IOC Session in Rio in August 2016.

    If you would like to vote for bowling, click here and right click on "bowling" to cast a vote.


    Related Articles

    Shannon Pluhowsky, Liz Johnson qualify to represent Team USA in Pan American Games
    Canadian bowling team nominated for XVII Pan American Games "Toronto 2015"
    Devin Bidwell, Tommy Jones qualify to compete in XVII Pan American Games "Toronto 2015"
    Bowling to be included in the official program official program of the XVII Pan American Games "Toronto 2015"


    XVII Pan American Games - Schedule of Events

    Wednesday, July 22, 2015
    10:05 Men's Doubles Block 1
    15:05 Women's Doubles Block 1

    Thursday, July 23, 2015
    10:05 Women's Doubles Block 2
    15:05 Men's Doubles Block 2

    Friday, July 24, 2015
    10:05 Men's Singles Qualifying Block 1
    10:05 Women's Singles Qualifying Block 1
    15:05 Women's Singles Qualifying Block 2
    15:05 Men's Singles Qualifying Block 2

    Saturday, July 25, 2015
    10:05 Men's Singles Top 8 Round Robin
    10:05 Women's Singles Top 8 Round Robin
    13:05 Women's Singles Semifinals
    13:35 Women's Singles Final
    14:05 Men's Singles Semifinals
    14:35 Men's Singles Final


    Bowling Competition - Provisional Athletes List

    2015PAGDanMacLellandwithtorch.jpg Argentina - Ricardo Dalla Rosa, Ruben Favero, Maria Lanzavecchia, Vanesa Rinke
    Aruba - Kamilah Dammers, Bryan Helmeyer, Jason Odor, Thashaina Seraus
    Brazil - Roberta Rodrigues, Stephanie Martins, Charles Robini, Marcelo Suartz
    Canada - Francois Lavoie, Dan MacLelland (pictured with the torch), Robin Orlikowski, Isabelle Rioux
    Chile - Constanza Bahamóndez, Veronica Valdebenito
    Colombia - Jaime Gonzalez, Clara Juliana Guerrero, Manuel Otalora, Rocio Restrepo
    Costa Rica - Ghiselle Araujo, Rodolfo Madriz, Maria Ramirez, James Stanley
    Dominican Republic - Manuel Fernandez, Aumi Guerra, Annie Henriquez, Francisco Prats
    El Salvador - Julio Acosta, Giancarlo Mateucci, Eugenia Quintanilla, Marcela Sanchez
    Guatemala - Laura Barrios, Armando Batres, Jose Morales Boehme, Sofia Granda
    Mexico - Alejandro Cruz, Sandra Gongora, Iliana Lomeli, Mario Quintero
    Panama - Juan Narvaez, Carlos Olmos
    Puerto Rico - Mariana Ayala, Kristie Lopez, Jean Perez
    United States - Devin Bidwell, Liz Johnson, Tommy Jones, Shannon Pluhowsky
    Venezuela - Patricia De Faria, Karen Marcano, Amleto Monacelli, Ildemaro Ruiz