Home » Navigation » World » World Cup » Review the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup

Review the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup


2010BWCMichaelSchmidt.jpg2010BWCAumiGuerra.jpgCanada’s Michael Schmidt and Aumi Guerra of the Dominican Republic claimed the men’s and women’s titles in the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup which was contested from Oct. 15-23, 2010 at Bowling de Provence in Toulon, France.

Due to severe structural problems with the ceiling of the bowling center, most of the competition of the second qualifying day was cancelled which resulted in a schedule and format change.

The preliminaries consisted of 3 instead of four blocks, two blocks of 5 games and one block of 6 games, with the top 24 men and the top 24 women after 16 games (instead of 20) advancing to the intermediate round. The top 24 players bowled another 8 games with the pinfall total from the preliminaries being carried forward.

2010BWCGyeMinYoung3.jpg2010BWCFionaBanks.jpgThe top 8 men and the top 8 women after 24 games bowled another 8 games round robin match play including one game position round (30 pins bonus for each victory). The top 3 men and the top 3 women after 32 games including bonus pins determined the champions in a best-of-three games stepladder final on Saturday Oct. 23.

In the women’s final, third-seeded Guerra swept No. 2 seed Fiona Banks (right), England, two-games-to-none, in the opening match and went on to defeat tournament leader Gye Min-Young (left), Korea, 2-1, by winning the final two games. Gye had a chance to lock up the title in the second game, but left a 4-7-10 split in the final frame. Guerra made history as it is the first World Cup ever title for the Dominican Republic.

2010BWCMattMiller2.jpg2010BWCBiboyRivera3.jpgSchmidt captured his second Bowling World Cup title after winning the 2005 event in Ljubljaan, Slovenia in his BWC debut to became only the second man to win the coveted title more than once. Paeng Nepomuceno, Philippines, has won record four World Cup titles in 1996, ’80, ’92 and ’96.

Schmidt, the No. 3 seed, who has never finished lower than fifth and any of his five World Cups, swept No. 2 Biboy Rivera (right), Philippines, in the opening match and came back from a 1-0 deficit to beat top-seeded Matt Miller (left), England, in the title match, 2-1.

2010BWCCountryAwardFionaBanksMattMiller.jpg2010BWCBigiManicoRobertoSilva.jpgSchmidt’s victory was the fourth by a Canadian man. Canada now has nine Bowling World Cup titles and claims the second most wins in World Cup history behind the United States (17).

Each of the three WTBA zones, America, Europe and Asia, was represented in both finals. The players from the Pan American Bowling Confederation (PABCON), however, swept the gold medals while the players from Europe and Asia got one silver and one bronze medal, respectively.

England has won the Bent Pedersen trophy for the top nation in the tournament with Miller in second place and Banks in third (pictured left). Bigi Manico, Switzerland and Roberto Silva, Mexico (pictured right) were voted Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Tournament by their peers.

2010BWCBurakNatal.jpg2010BWCVanessaTimter3.jpgFor the first time since 1996 (Belfast, Ireland) there was no 300 game rolled in the World Cup. Burak Natal (left), Turkey, rolled the highest game of the men’s division and the highest of the 46th BWC during the qualifying with 299.

Vanessa Timter (right), Germany, posted the highest game in the women’s division in the Round of 24 with 286.

Record 167 players (91 men and record 76 women) from 92 countries bowl participated in this year’s event. The total number of participants broke the previous record of 166 set in the 40th BWC in Singapore in 2004. The number of females bowlers broke the previous record of 73 set in Singapore, Caracas (2006) and St. Peters burgh (2007) .

To review all live streaming broadcasts provided by BOWL.com please click here

Related Photos

Photo Album 1
Photo Album 2
Photo Album 3
Photo Album 4

Related Videos

Video #6 Men’s Championship:Third and deciding game
Video #5 Women’s Championship:Third and deciding game
Video #4 High Def Slow Motion Studies (Men’s Qualifying and Round of 24)
Video #3 Women’s and Men’s Qualifying
Video #2 Opening Ceremonies at Tour Royale, Toulon
Video #1 Impressions from Bowling de Provence during the Women’s Official Practice

Related Articles

Eurosport announces TV schedule for QubicaAMF World Cup finals
Michael Schmidt wins his second QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup title
Aumi Guerra comes from behind to win the 2010 Women’s World Cup
It’s down to three men and three women in 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
Matt Miller shoots big numbers to overtake the lead in 46th QubicaAMF World Cup
Gye Min-Young widens her lead in Women’s Bowling World Cup Round of 24
Team USA’s John Szczerbinski tops Men’s Division after qualifying at Bowling World Cup
Achim Grabowski rises to the top as Men’s Squad A has finished World Cup Qualifying
Korea’s Gye Min-Young leads top 24 women into Intermediate Round
Aumi Guerra sets the pace as Women Squad A has completed the 16-game preliminaries
John Szczerbinski averages over 246 to overtake the lead in Men’s World Cup
Asian women dominate QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup after the second block
Business as usual at the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
Bowling is cancelled for Tuesday at 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
Mads Sandbækken powers his way into the lead at Men’s Bowling World Cup
Wendy Chai, Gye Min-Young atop the women’s field after Day One Qualifying
Holly Fleming is the early leader in the Women’s Qualifying at QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
Biboy Rivera leads Men’s Qualifying after Day One
Swiss Kwan Harn-Chieh sets the pace in Men’s QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
Preview of the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
Canada’s Schmidt, Wong en route to France for the 2010 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
Team USA’s Dorin-Ballard, Szczerbinski ready to tackle World Cup
Hulst; Sanders win NBF Bowling Tour Finals 2010 to represent Netherlands in the World Cup
Rivera, Posadas earn Philippines’ Bowling World Cup spots
Ancarani, Manico cruise to victory in Swiss World Cup Qualifier
Mizrahi, Aviram in the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
Zavjalova, Vēzis to represent Latvia at QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup in France
Gablek, Kubalek win Austrian Bowling World Cup Qualifier
Over 90 countries to participate in the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup moves from Zagreb, Croatia, to Toulon, France
Marcelo Suartz wins XIX Copa AMF Brazil to represent Brazil at 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
MTV Party at Bowling 300 Zagreb, host of the 46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
46th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup to be held in October in Zagreb, Croatia

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.