Home » Navigation » World » World Cup » Aumi Guerra wins her second consecutive World Cup title

Aumi Guerra wins her second consecutive World Cup title


2011BWCAumiGuerra5.jpg2011BWCDiandraAsbaty4.jpgAumi Guerra of the Dominican Republic captured her second consecutive women’s World Cup title when she defeated Diandra Asbaty, United States, 202-199, in the deciding third game to win the 47th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup, two-games-to-one.

The top three of 69 women advanced to the stepladder finals in best-of-three games format Wednesday, Dec. 7 at Northcliff Bowling Center in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Top seeded Guerra (pictured left), who won the 2010 BWC title in Toulon, France, from No. 3 seed, struck eleven times in the first game of the title match to easily take a 1-0 lead, 266-201.

Tides turned in game two, when No. 2 seed Asbaty (right), who was targeting for her second career World Cup title after her victory in Caracas Venezuela in 2006, rebounded with 227-214 win to level the match.

2011BWCAumiGuerra6.jpg2011BWCSandraAndersson.jpgBoth players started the deciding third game with a double and a spare. Both opened in the fourth frame due to splits. Asbaty adder three singles pin spares, while Guerra went 9-spare, strike and 9-spare to take a one-pin lead heading into the last three frames.

Both players struck in the eighth and ninth frame and the title was decided in the last frame. Both players were unable to strike getting a 9-count each. Both spared and Guerra sealed the victory with a strike on the fill ball for 202-199.

2011BWCAumiGuerra4.jpgIn the semifinal match against No. 3 seed, Sandra Andersson (right), Asbaty came back from a 1-0 deficit after losing the first game, 217-267, to the young Swede. Asbaty posted two big scores to win the next two games, 247-219 and 279-243, to advance to the title match, two-games-to-one.

Guerra became the fourth woman after Jeanette Baker, Australia (1982, 83), Pauline Smith, England (1981, 93) and Shannon Pluhowsky, United States (2002, ’04) and the sixth player overall to win multiple World Cup titles. Guerra and Baker are the only players, who have successfully defended their title.

Check out Bowlingdigital’s photo album on facebook
Part 1
Part 2

2011BWCBanner.jpgThe 47th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup was held from Nov. 30 – Dec. 7, 2011 at Northcliff Bowling Center in Johannesburg, South Africa.

The 69 women, who participated in the event, bowled 20 qualifying games, four blocks of five games on four days, before the field was cut to the top 24 who bowled eight additional games on Monday, Dec. 5.

The top eight after 28 games advanced to the Round of 8 and bowled another eight games on Tuesday morning to cut to the top three who determined the champion in the stepladder finals on Wednesday, Dec. 7.

Photos: Beat Grauwiler.

47th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup – Women’s Stepladder Finals

Northcliff Bowling Center in Johannesburg, South Africa

2011BWCWomenTop3.jpgChampionship Round:
1. Aumi Guerra, Dominican Republic, 682 (3 games)
2. Diandra Asbaty, United States, 1370 6 (games)
3. Sandra Andersson, Sweden, 729 (3 games)

Playoff Results:
Semifinal: No. 2 Asbaty def. No. 3 Andersson, 2-1
(217-267, 247-219, 279-243)
Championship: No. 1 Guerra def. Asbaty, 2-1
(266-201, 214-227, 202-199) .

L-R Asbaty, Guerra and Andersson.

Related Articles

Guerra, Asbaty, Andersson to bowl for women’s World Cup title in South Africa
Jones, Belmonte, Kalika to bowl for men’s World Cup title in South Africa
No changes atop the men’s leaderboard in Round of 24 at Bowling World Cup
Aumi Guerra targets second consecutive women’s Bowling World Cup title
2011 BWC Video No. 3 Men’s HD Slow Motion Studies
Aumi Guerra holds huge 335-pin lead in Women’s World Cup heading into Round of 24
Tommy Jones wins men’s qualifying at 47th Bowling World Cup in South Africa
Jason Belmonte continues to lead in Men’s World Cup with 250-plus average after three blocks
Scores are going through the roof in South Africa; Aumi Guerra averages over 260 in Block 3
2011 BWC Video No. 2 Impressions
Aumi Guerra paces women’s division as World Cup qualifying reaches halfway mark
2011 BWC Video No. 1 Opening Ceremonies
Jason Belmonte continues to lead men’s division at 47th Bowling World Cup
Jason Belmonte shoots first 300 game of 47th Bowling World Cup in South Africa
Argentina’s Mercedes Perez leads women’s division at Bowling World Cup after first block
Asbaty, Jones headed to South Africa for World Cup
Depka, Richards represent Virgin Islands at the Bowling World Cup
Guerra, Schmidt to defend their titles at QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup in South Africa
LGB Northcliff Bowl rebuilding nears completion
Bergès, Manico cruise to victory in Swiss World Cup Qualifier
Sue Abela, Justin Caruana Scicluna to represent Malta at Bowling World Cup
Shahaf Antin, Ben Fishler to represent Israel at World Cup in South Africa
Louw, Van der Berg will bowl for the host country South Africa in 47th QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup
Caio Pizzoli wins XX Copa AMF Brazil in Sao Paulo
2011 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup to be held in Johannesburg, South Africa

Herbert Bickel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.