Canada sends its national champions to compete at the XVI Pan American Games




    Canada will be represented at the tenpin bowling competition of the XVI Pan American Games by its 2010 men's and women's national champions and runner-ups. The Pan American Games are an Americas version of the Olympic Games which includes the Olympic program sports and others that are not part of the Olympics.

    The bowling competition will be held at Tapatio Bowling Alley in Guadalajara, Mexico from October 23-27, 2011.

    2011WWCTriosCarolineLagrange300.jpg2010EBT05MarkBuffa.jpgCaroline Lagrange (pictured left), Montreal, Quebec and Jennifer Park, Nanaimo, British Columbia, will compete in the women's events. Art Oliver, Jr., Hamilton, Ontario and Mark Buffa (right), Montreal, QC will be the representatives in the men's competition. They were selected based on their performances at national and international events,

    Lagrange and Oliver Jr. were national champions in 2010. Park and Buffa were 2010 silver medalists. All four are multi-year Team Canada members and have earned medals at international events. Lagrange is the 2009 Bowling World Cup champion and recently earned the All Events silver medal in the 2011 Women's World Championships held in Hong Kong, China.

    Canada's men and women were one of 15 countries who qualified for the Games at the 2009 Pan American Bowling Championships held in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Mexico as host, will be the 16th country participating.

    The events will be doubles and singles.

    The doubles event will consist of two six game blocks in men's and women's competition. A different oil pattern will be used in each block. After 12 games, the top three will be awarded gold, silver and bronze medals.

    The singles event will be two six-game blocks of qualifying for both men and women. The top 16 qualifiers will bowl an elimination series of three games with the #1 qualifier meeting #16 and so on. The winners will be defined by the accumulated pins knocked down in all three games. The winners will move on to the quarterfinals.

    The four bowlers with the highest pinfall in the Round of 8 will bowl in the semifinals. The first bowler to win two games will be the winner. In the finals, the two winners will meet for gold and silver medals. The losers of the semifinals will each earn bronze medals.

    Lucien Casagrande, Winnipeg, Manitoba will coach the team. CTF President, Cathy Innes, of Surrey, British Columbia and Hazel McLeary, CTF Public Relations Coordinator, will serve on the Tournament Technical Committee.


    Related Articles

    Pan Am Games roster set for Team USA
    Suartz, Vieira, Scheer, Martins win Brazilian Pan American Games Eliminator
    Pan American Games qualifying for Team USA women to be conducted May 2-3
    PABCON announces participating countries in 16th Pan American Games 2011
    O'Neill, Barnes will represent Team USA at Pan American Games
    Bill O'Neill leads Team USA Pan American Games Trials after Day One
    Team USA Pan Am Games Trials Live Streaming/Live Scoring is underway at ITRC
    Spots in Pan American Games up for grabs for Team USA men next week
    Canada names team for 2011 Pan American Games